Movie Review Monday – Into the Forest

Synopsis

(From IMDB)

After a massive power outage, two sisters learn to survive on their own in their isolated woodland home.

Into the Forest

Directed by Patricia Rozema


Genre: 
Science Fiction
Released:
2015
Run Time:
101 Minutes
Source: 
Amazon Prime Membership – Free
On My Shelf: 
Christ No

intotheforest.jpg

 

Where to even start with this? I’m just going to start with stating the obvious: This was…bad. Not good, at all. This movie has been low-key on my radar for awhile since Ellen Page is in it, so when I came across it on Amazon, I was like, “Sure, I’ll finally watch this!” I wish I hadn’t.

To begin with, there’s really nothing to begin with. There is zero plot to this story and what little is there MAKES LITERALLY ZERO SENSE ALL THE TIME from beginning to end. I could not tell you what this movie is actually about. We get zero intel into why there was a mass power outage. We can assume this movie takes place at some point in the future, since the brief tech we are shown is pretty advanced. Yet, other parts of this movie are like not advanced at all and feel set even before current day? SO I’M NOT EVEN SURE WHEN ANY OF THIS TAKES PLACE???? I tried to figure it out but don’t have a clue.

Also, let me just say that the way the dad dies…THAT’S NOT AT ALL HOW CHAINSAWS WORK??? Seriously??? Like, that death scene made no sense at all. I almost gave up on the movie after that since I couldn’t figure out what was going on and I could tell the writers and director had no idea what they were doing, but I suffered through…….unfortunately.

I really should have given up, though, because not long after we are shown one of the most gratuitous rape scenes I’ve seen in a long time. (I typically tend to avoid these types of movies since they’re incredibly triggering for me.) I was beyond uncomfortable watching it, and the scene went on for 10x longer than it needed to. Also, once again, IT DIDN’T EVEN MAKE SENSE. Literally some guy the 2 girls saw in town MONTHS ago walked all the way out to their house (because he SOMEHOW knows where they live????) just to rape the older sister and then stole their truck just to drive back into town???? And the truck didn’t even have enough gas to get back to town??????

But, okay, so now I guess I can get to the part where I tell you I actually know what this movie was all about. Sure, it didn’t have a plot, but who needs a plot when the point of the entire movie is just to shove the concept of pro-choice down the viewers throat for at least 1 hour and 20 minutes? 

Yep, that’s literally the entire plot. The older sister is raped because her dad (the patriarchy?) is no longer there to “protect” her since of course another woman (her sister) couldn’t possibly take on that role(?) (or, I guess, of course, she has to get raped because that’s what happens to women??), she suffers from PTSD, and then, ******* magically, she finds out she’s pregnant and everything is right with the world again, because of course being pregnant solves everything for a woman…

I’m not even sorry, but this movie was a load of shit. There was zero plot, it was unbelievably triggering and gratuitous in all the wrong ways, LITERALLY NOTHING MADE ANY SENSE EVER, AND THAT ENDING WAS THE STUPIDEST THING I have ever been disappointed by. Like, I wasted 101 minutes FOR THAT??? Christ.

Anyway, this movie was a huge no for me, and I suggest you don’t waste your time on it. Trust me and save yourself the cringes and the eye rolls.

The End

Other Links to reach me at:

Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Movie Review Monday – Into the Forest

Leave a Reply

