Heidegger and a Hippo Walk Through Those Pearly Gates by Thomas Cathcart

Synopsis

A pretty standard run-of-the-mill book on philosophy looking at life and what possibly comes next.

Heidegger and a Hippo Walk Though Those Pearly Gates: Using Philosophy (and Jokes!) to Explore Life, Death, the Afterlife, and Everything in Between by Thomas Cathcart and Daniel Klein


Genre: Nonfiction/Philosophy
Release Date: October 2009
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: No Chance

heideggerandahippo.jpg

This was not my thing. Then again, philosophy has never really been my thing, to say. I took a class on it in college and knew that it wasn’t something I wanted more than to dip my feet in. To me, it’s all just a bunch of flowery language written by privileged white men with too much time on their hands. I know there’s got to be some good musings out there, so please direct me to some if you know any!

So now, if I already knew the chance was that I wasn’t going to like it, then why did I check this out in the first place? Well, I’m a sucker for second chances. That, this title, and cover sold me to give this book a chance.

However, I should have listened to my gut and closed this book after the opening quote the authors had chosen. I can’t remember who it was by or what it was (since I’ve already forgotten it and most of this book…actually…pretty much all of it), but I remember rolling my eyes and thinking, “I should close this right now. I’m sure it would be for the best.”

It would have, but I went on with it anyway. Basically what it all came down to was that the language was exceptionally overdone, the concepts were hardly hashed out with no conclusions drawn despite talking about each one for ages, and the jokes weren’t funny. 

This book was such a waste of time that I’ll never get back. I should have listened to my cut and left this one closed. I urge you to save your self the time and heed my warning. I definitely do not recommend reading this one.

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

The End

Other Links to reach me at:

Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy

Leave a Reply

