Metzengerstein by Edgar Allan Poe

Synopsis

An ancient blood feud stretching so many decades it’s forgotten how everything started in the first place that finally brings to life the answer to a prophecy that was made years previous–old and cryptic to the point of vagueness giving the story an eerie sense of being dated yet timeless all at once.

“Metzengerstein” by Edgar Allan Poe

★★★★★
Genre: Short Story/Horror
Release Date: 1832
Source: Barnes & Noble – Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

metzengerstein.jpg

This short story easily became one of my top favorites from Poe. I enjoyed this tale so much! It was riddled with suspense, creepy images, interesting aspects of horror with vivid descriptions, and had a totally eerie setting.

The plot of this story was, quite frankly, awesome. I’m a huge fan of Poe and have enjoyed his tales since I had my first experience with his writing in 7th grade. But, that’s beside the point. This story was fast-paced, bone chilling, and had a totally Sleepy Hollow feel. I think it would be accurate to say that Poe drew from that sort of setting/story to write this one. That, of course, is not a bad thing. I quite enjoyed the feel of it all and was definitely completely invested in this tale. I was eager to find out how everything was going to wrap up.

Poe’s writing has a way of either being spot on or way too analytical (particularly trying too hard if I’m being perfectly honest). I’m happy to say this story turned out to be the former. Everything about Poe’s writing in this story was comparable to his highly acclaimed short stories, such as “The Tell-Tale heart,” or his high-rated poetry, more specifically something like “Annabelle Lee.” This is surprising as this is Poe’s second earliest short story, yet I’m not really surprised at all that this story was so good. As I said, Poe’s writing is either utterly flooring or over-the-top, so, when I find one of his stories I like, I don’t hold anything back instead allowing myself to immerse fully in the enjoyment of reading the spooky tale.

All in all, this is easily a new favorite story of mine, and I definitely recommend it. Between the delicious descriptions, vivid imagery, and spine-tingling chills, this is a must read for Poe and Horror fans alike. This short story will have you enthralled until the last page and then it will leave you with a gaping jaw wondering how you got there and wanting to relive the journey.

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

The End

IMG_7821.JPG

Other Links to reach me at:

Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy

Leave a Reply

