Movie Review Monday – Pod

Pod

Directed by Mickey Keating

★★½
Genre: 
Sci-Fi/Action/Mystery
Released:
2015
Run Time:
76 Minutes
Source: 
Netflix
On My Shelf: 
No

Synopsis from IMDB:

A family intervention goes horrifically awry within the snowy confines of an isolated lake house.

pod

This movie was, well…it was, all right. Nothing more; nothing less.

I chose to watch this because the cover and description made it sound like an indy/edgy alien flick. It kinda was.

Although, that leads me into my main complaint: This movie had a hard time deciding what its plot was. 

The concepts kept going back and forth between the idea of the brother in need of an intervention is crazy because of PTSD he suffered from being in the army, believably having some sort of government technology locked away in his basement, and this actually being some sort of actual alien encounter. I understand that the movie was most-likely executed this way to give the viewer doubt in which to keep the watcher guessing and to make them maybe feel as confused as the characters, but this didn’t work for me. 

It was too open, too all over the place, too erratic.

There was simply no semblance of any kind of plot and that made it hard to invest in the this movie. I was too busy being confused to form any sort of bond with the characters. It’s not that weren’t relatable or likable, or something like that (and, actually, the acting was fairly good for a low-budget flick), it’s just that I was too busy trying to figure out what the **** was going on.

I can say 2 positives things about this film though.

1. It was incredibly suspenseful.
I was constantly trying to figure out what was going to pop out–what the creature/machine/pod was going to be. I was also a bit afraid to see it because it was freaky: all in all. I was a bit disappointed that we didn’t get to know more about what exactly the pod was (although I guess it can be argued that there is evidence to support what it’s implied (and/or speculated) to be) because this movie lacked so heavily in backstory and plot development.

However, if you’re looking for cheap jump-scares and a tolerable storyline, you might enjoy this.

2. SUCH ARTISTIC VERY WOW
I’m a freaking sucker for artistic shit like this. I love shots that look like they could be a painting, and I love when this type of filmmaking is incorporated into a horror flick. Beauty and horror is basically what the world is made up of, and I love it when these things collide.

So, if you like indy, artistic, horror flicks, you also might enjoy this flick.

All in all, I don’t really have a recommendation for you one way or the other. This movie is pretty forgettable, but there are some pieces and aspects that stuck with me, although not many.

**ALSO** Calling it “reminiscent of the best of hte X Files” is A BIT of a stretch. I can acknowledge it had that feel, but was nowhere near executed nor acted as well as that show (which, arguably, is one of the best sci-fi melodramas to grace television).

The End

Other Links to reach me at:

Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

