Movie Review Monday – Night Skies

Night Skies

Directed by Roy Knyrim

★★★½
Genre: 
Sci-Fi/Inspired By
Released:
2007
Run Time:
85 Minutes
Source:
Bought – Kmart
On My Shelf: 
Currently Yes

Synopsis from IMDB:

On March 13th, 1997 one of the largest UFO sightings ever recorded took place across the southwestern United States. The event became known as the ‘Phoenix Lights’ and was witnessed by community leaders, members of law enforcement, as well as thousands of everyday citizens. This true story, based on transcripts from actual hypnosis-therapy sessions, finally reveals what happened after the infamous incident ended and how six people, stranded by chance on a forgotten road, encountered more than just lights in the sky.

nightskies.jpg

This movie was surprisingly…good. I picked up a bundle of 4 alien movies for $5 at Kmart and wasn’t expecting much as it was a B movie film pack. But, that also means that my hopes weren’t high for this giving the movie the ability to catch me off guard as something I actually liked.

I’ll just get this out right away: It’s very apparent that this was a low-budget film and the acting is frequently sub par, but the effects that were included were fairly well done and not laughable. I thought that this movie was the best it could be given that it wasn’t given a main-stream budget. 

I honestly enjoyed the storyline and I’m, not going to lie, such a sucker for movies claiming to be based on true events. That definitely added to the creepy/eerie setting and feel of this film. I don’t recommend watching this alone at night unless you’re looking for some chills. 

One final thing I will say is that the end of this movie got really strange really fast. I was kind of there for that ending, but at the same time this movie probably would have gotten 4 stars instead of 3.5 if things hadn’t gotten so carried away. I did like the artistic freedom and execution the creators enforced toward the end, but it was a bit too far of a stretch for me. Also, I didn’t like the typical female alien trope included at the end (being based off a true story or not, that felt like an unnecessary inclusion).

Overall, I totally recommend this to other sci-fi/alien movie fans. This was an interesting take and refreshingly well-done.

The End

Other Links to reach me at:

Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy

Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

