Darth Vader Volume 1 by Kieron Gillen

Synopsis

Taking place after A New Hope, this comic series explores Darth Vader and how he deals with the destruction of the Death Star. It’s far from smooth sailing, and it even appears that Vader is being primed to be replaced, since the Dark Side shows no mercy.

Darth Vader, Vol. 1: Vader by Kieron Gillen and Salvador Larroca


Genre: Comic Book/Star Wars/Science Fiction
Release Date: October 2015
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: No

starwarsdarthvadervol1.jpg

I don’t have strong feelings about this one. I really enjoyed reading it, but I didn’t love it nor did I geek out over the new storyline. I found it to be incredibly interesting and liked where this comic took Vader, but it was nothing to get overly excited about. There was actually a bit of the plot that I didn’t really care for, but not to the point that it affected my reading experience. It was just sort of…you know, strange?

That being said, do think it’s awesome that Vader is getting his very own comic run for the first time ever! That’s like totally rad. I’m excited to see where this new series will take him and how the plot will continue to unfold.

I did enjoy that Vader, as well as others, were in character and felt like they walked right out of the movie. The writer and artist did a great job of making this feel like it fit in with the series and making it feel like the Star Wars we know and love. I will say, though, that I wasn’t a huge fan of the female character introduced. I simultaneously loved her character and yet also found her character a bit cringe-worthy. She was nearly an awesome strong female, but she felt held back a little. I wish she had been given a bit more oomph. But, I guess for now I’ll just be glad that she was there. I’m curious to see how she’ll develop through the series.

The last bit I’ll say is about the art. I really enjoyed Larroca’s work on the art in this comic. I thought he did an excellent job of bringing the story and characters to life. As I said above, this felt very Star Wars and fit right in with everything we already love about the series. I also really loved the coloring. It was vibrant and beautiful and worked wonders for the story.

Overall, I definitely recommend this to Star Wars fans. This was a great read. Sure, it didn’t wow me, but I’m such Star Wars trash that it’s pretty hard to actually disappoint me. This is a great addition to the SW universe.

Order Your Copy from Book Depository Here – $14.10

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

The End

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 8.13.48 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Leave a Reply

