the princess saves herself in this one by Amanada Lovelace

Synopsis

A memoir-esque poetry collection that lets everyone, but especially women, that they do not need anyone else to be complete. Not to be confused with having healthy relationships, but instead encouraging the reader to have a healthy relationship with themselves before attempting to love someone else.

the princess saves herself in this one by Amanda Lovelace


Genre: Poetry
Release Date: April 2016 (Rerelease 23 March 2017)
Source: Review Copy via Netgalley
On My Shelf: It Needs to Be

theprincesssavesherselfinthisone

How do I even put into words what this poetry collection meant to me?
Simple Answer: I can’t.

I don’t even know how to write this review because even though this poetry collection appears simplistic with its short thoughts and few words there is something far deeper and far more complex going on that transcends the space between the white and black space on the paper.

Does that make sense? I’m not sure, but I’m really trying to explain how this collection affected me. Basically, I laughed and cried and hurt and healed and it was all so abrupt and yet the journey was slow and enjoyable and changing. Lovelace’s words were arranged so beautifully and helped me in ways I didn’t even know I needed.

It was inspiring and touching to be able to follow Lovelace’s journey. I enjoyed her honesty and how she doesn’t sugarcoat anything. Her poems are an accurate representation of life (and death). Her voice shines brightly and echoes loudly, bouncing off the surfaces of the senses.

I had heard some conflicting opinions on Lovelace’s poetry, and so I was actually a bit nervous to read this solely because I was afraid I wouldn’t adore it. I follow Lovelace on various social media platforms, so I needed so badly to like her book, and I put off reading it, because what if I didn’t? What if I would have had a bad experience when all my other experiences with her various social media work had been nothing short of wonderful? Turns out I had nothing to worry about. I should have read this so much sooner!

I really enjoy experimental poetry and personally find so much more meaning in it. For some reason it feels more raw instead of flouncy and over-artistic. (I’m not criticizing others’ work. There have been many overly-bearing poems (poets) I’ve enjoyed ver much, but this simply felt more relevant for me at the current time in my life.)

Overall, I’m so glad that I was provided a chance to read this poetry collection. I can honestly say I will be buying my own copy, and I think you should too! I recommend this to everyone.

Order Your Copy from Book Depository Here – $10.39

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

*Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my rating. All thoughts are and remain my own.*

The End

Screen Shot 2017-03-21 at 8.19.09 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Leave a Reply

