The Goddamned, Volume 1 by Jason Aaron

Synopsis

Even if you’re not religious, you might be familiar with the story of Cain and Able. The first children of the world, two brothers, who were content, until Cain wasn’t and became overcome by jealousy for his brother Able. In cold blood Cain killed his brother creating, for the first time, into existence the concept of murder. He has been cursed ever since, cursed by God to wander the wasteland the world has become unable to die. Filled to the brim with mythical beasts, action, and cold-blooded murder, this story is an adventure, to say the least.

Collects issues #1-5

The Goddamned, Vol. 1: Before the Flood by Jason Aaron and R.M. Guerra


Genre: Horror/Fantasy
Release Date: January 2017
Source: Review Copy Provided by Publisher
On My Shelf: YES

thegoddamned.jpg

WOW!

I knew I was going to LOVE this as soon as I saw Jason Aaron’s name on it, and I was not disappointed in any way: in fact, I was left awed and needing so much more.

You may be familiar with the new Marvel Star Wars comic series (Volume 1: Skywalker Strikes) in which case I can assure you that you are also familiar with Aaron’s work. Also, if you’re an X-Men fan, you may have encountered him in one of those issues. Do you like Thor, specifically the new female run? Congratulations, you know who Aaron is. And, even if you haven’t seen his name before, chances are that if you read comics you’ve read something by him, as he’s worked on so much.

But, I’m digressing, so let’s get back to the issue at hand. Image comics is one of my favorite comics publishers, so when I found this finished product in the mail (I’m not going to lie to you) I audibly squealed. The combination of both Image and Aaron caused excitement beyond belief. I was so stoked that I dove in the very next night and read this all in one sitting barely even without pause for breath. I read this comic volume in under an hour! I just devoured it.

I will start by saying that this story is not for the feint of heart or those that are easily offended. WARNING: bounteous nudity, gore, and profanity. Basically, this comic was murder and dropping the f bomb as frequently as possible, yet somehow I still enjoyed the plot an incredible amount. It was so interesting how Aaron chose to look at a time in biblical history and gave us a story that focusses on how much of a wasteland the world was before the great flood. I mentioned in the synopsis that this book mainly focusses on Cain but it’s all in relation to the bigger event that’s playing out: Noah.

But, I don’t want to ruin anything, so I’ll move on. On top of this being horror, it also felt a bit like fantasy. (I’m not religious, so, to me personally I may have been affected in a different way than others.) Aaron and Guerra created an entirely new world, one with the vengeful God of the old testament that has no sympathy for the mortals he created. One of my favorite things that this comic does is explore the idea that God made us in his image, so what kind of God is that? 

I just really enjoyed the concepts this story explored and found them all so intensely thought-provoking. I was constantly thrown for loops wondering what mythical creature was going to appear next or what passage would make my jaw drop even further than the previous. To me, this plot had zero flaws, and I’m so invested in the story. I need more like tomorrow K THANKS.

And THE ART. o.m.g. the artGuerra’s work was morbid and horrifying and sad and absolutely beautiful. I couldn’t stop looking at the panels. They were so grotesque and yet I wanted to admire them forever. Does this say more about me than the style? No, I don’t think so. In fact, I’m quite positive it’s the opposite. I can’t get over how much I liked the atmosphere Guerra was able to create. It complements Aaron’s storytelling like a chocolate complements a croissant.

I want to say so much more about this, but I also want to wrap this up so you can go forth and experience this comic for yourself. If you’re not squeamish and wouldn’t be offended by the obscenities/dark religious undertones, than I HIGHLY recommend snatching up a copy of this as soon as you can! I adored this, and I will be on the edge of my seat waiting for more!

Get Your Own Copy from Book Depository Here – $9.04

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

*Thank you to the publisher for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my rating. All thoughts are and remain my own.*

The End

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 8.19.11 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

3 thoughts on “The Goddamned, Volume 1 by Jason Aaron

Leave a Reply

