I Love My Love by Reyna Biddy

Synopsis

A collection of poetry (written and performed) by Reyna Biddy that focusses on past hurt and learning to love yourself–flaws and all. It’s your own love that is, above all, the most important.

I Love My Love by Reyna Biddy

★½
Genre: Poetry
Release Date: February 2017
Source: Free Copy via Netgalley
On My Shelf: No

ilovemylove.jpg

I’ve been wanting to read more poetry lately and so I was excited to dive into this collection. I’m very open to any kind of poetry, and I loved the sort of experimental feel this collection had.

Biddy has a great deal of talent in writing down words in a way that makes the reader feel something. I personally felt so many emotions while reading her words. Many times I had gooesbumps, other times I was smiling, and even others I had tears welling up in my eyes.

Although there were a few points that, as a feminist, I didn’t always agree with, it, also as a feminist, is not my place to reject or not support a fellow woman’s experiences and how they have and work to shape said woman’s outlooks and personality. Biddy has been through so much and her poetry collection is very raw. Reading this felt something like picking at a scab that’s still healing. I mean this is the utmost complimentary way for how brave this author was to reveal so much of herself that she is still learning to love and connect on a deeper level with. I have so much applause for her.

Biddy’s words touched me in so many different ways and in so many nooks and crannies–some that I was unaware I still had. I am doing a very bad job  of writing this review while making sense. What I’m really trying to say is that I adored this collection and am exceedingly happy that I was given the opportunity to read it. I started reading this late one night with intentions to only glance over a few poems before bed, but I was sucked in and couldn’t stop reading until I was finished. I read every line in one sitting without stopping and nearly without breath.

Overall, I highly recommend this poetry collection to everyone, but especially to women. This is a touching journey that I think anyone could find at least a few relatable moments in.

Purchase your copy from Book Depository here – $10.79

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

*Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my rating. All thoughts are and remain my own.*

The End

Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 4.55.13 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

One thought on “I Love My Love by Reyna Biddy

Leave a Reply

