Transformers “Regeneration One” by Simon Furman

Synopsis

Unicron has been fought and the Earth has been destroyed and the Autobots are working hard to save their home planet of Cybertron in their ongoing war with the Decepticons. But, will Opimus be driven to desperate lengths? Will his idea for a truce be too far-fetched? What’s actually happening on Earth?

Transformers “Regeneration One” (Issue #81) by Simon Furman


Genre: Sci-Fi/Comic Book/Single Issue
Release Date: July 2012
Source: Comic Book Store – Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

transformersregenerationoneissue81

So, by now you may have realized how much I love The Transformers. If you’ve been following this blog awhile, there’s probably no way you couldn’t know about it. That being said, I’m sure it comes as no surprise that I gave this 5 stars. I don’t think I’ve ever come across a Transformers comic I gave less than 5 stars to. (That’s a lie. All Hail Megatron wasn’t that good…) What can I say? It’s just who I am.

However, that all means that I’m pretty biased about these comics and can hardly write critical reviews of them. I’ve been in love with these transforming robots since I’ve been about 4, so there’s really no going back for me.

But, I’m going to stop rambling and start writing about this comic.

I really enjoyed this one. I actually read a collected volume of this specific series run. After something like a 10-year break, Simon Furman, one of the authors of the original Transformers series, was given permission to reboot the comics, resulting in a new series that seems to be quite long, which is awesome.

The volume that I read actually takes place before the battle with Unicron, so I was semi-informed as to what was happening in this issue and was able to follow the storyline easily. (Then again, I feel like The Transformers comics are nearly always easy to follow issue-to-issue even if you miss some in between.)

I enjoyed the plot and loved the tension that was happening between the Autobots and Decepticons as well as within each group. They seem to be at an all time high here. I love the desperation of it. This is not something seen in the early comics. But, I read that for this reboot, the writers and artists were given incredible artistic freedom and were able to create a new, more intense story than we’ve seen before.

Last thing before I wrap up. The art in this comic is beautiful. I really enjoyed it. It’s different from the original artwork, which is fine, since I always enjoy a good stirring of the pot. The coloring was also spectacular. I really loved everything about these panels. These comics having such aesthetically pleasing artistic talent absolutely increased my enjoyment of the comic.

Okay, this is the real last thing. That ending tho! I need the next issue like yesterday because what?!

Overall, I definitely recommend this to Transformers fans. Or, to anyone who feels the need to include some robot drama in their lives. I’m invested in this series, and I’m always on the lookout for more comics.

The End

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

One thought on “Transformers “Regeneration One” by Simon Furman

Leave a Reply

