I Hate Fairyland Volume 2 by Scottie Young

Synopsis

Gertrude is back and now she’s the Queen of Fairyland. Only she finds out that being said queen is not really as much fun as she thought it would be. It’s mostly just paperwork. So, she decides to track an outcast down that might know a little something about escaping Fairyland and making her way back home. But, no one said anything about it being easy. So, Gertrude finds herself on a new quest to make it back home. Will she succeed this time?

Collects Issues #6-10

I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 2: Fluff My Life by Scottie Young


Genre: Fantasy/Humor/Satire/Comic Book
Release Date: December 2016
Source: Barnes & Noble – Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

ihatefairylandvol2fluffmylife.jpg

I met Scottie Young last year at BookCon2016 and purchased the first volume of this collection there. Volume 1 had already been on my radar, so meeting him just moved up me purchasing it quicker than I would have otherwise. I’m glad that experience happened, though. First of all, Young was just a great guy and was fun to chat with. And, second, the first story blew me out of the freaking water. It was magnificent!

So, when Barnes &  Noble had a sale on image comics (buy 2 get 1), I knew I had to get my hands on this second issue, which I had been putting off because money is a thing and I don’t always have it. I read this collection within the next few days after purchase.

I’ll start off by saying that I didn’t quite enjoy this volume as much as I did the first, but I still couldn’t give it any less than 5 stars. This was such a fun read and, if I’m not mistaken, holy cow all those Tolkien refrences! Although I did think that the first volume had more a variety of references, I feel like this one was an excellent epic journey that involved a company (although small) in search of a sort of key to get home. Oh, and also, there was a dragon. Do you understand? I’m being clear, right? *laughs nervously at my own nerdiness*

Anyway……….This was a great journey, and I laughed my arse off while I was on it. Young’s storytelling and drawing abilities have captured my attention and my heart. (My heart loves really weird things okay…like a 30yo trapped in the body of a child ruling Fairyland, destroying cities, ripping people’s guts out…..judge me, whatever fine). I’m always on the lookout for Young’s name slapped on anything now. (Which happens quite freaquently, as he works with other big names such as Marvel.)

I keep getting off topic, but that’s because I overall don’t have a lot to say about this volume. Basically, if you liked the first one, you’ll like this one, and you need to read it. Okay, so go forth and begin your journey into Fairyland. Have a laugh, destroy some cities, and fall in love with the best new satircal adventure for Fantasy lovers.

The End

Get Your Own Copies From Book Depository:
I Hate Fairyland Volume 1 – $7.68
I Hate Fairyland Volume 2 – $10.70

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

The End

IMG_7798.JPG

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

One thought on “I Hate Fairyland Volume 2 by Scottie Young

Leave a Reply

