Ashley Quotes Things – Wild by Cheryl Strayed

This is a fun little feature where I share some of my favorite quotes from books I’ve loved. Hopefully, they’ll give you an idea if this is the type of book for you or not. Consider it a formal recommendation and an attempt at enticement.

Today I’m quoting Wild by Sheryl Strayed–one of my favorite memoirs.

I highly highly recommend reading this one if you haven’t already.

Synopsis taken from Goodreads:

At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike more than a thousand miles of the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mojave Desert through California and Oregon to Washington State — and she would do it alone.
Told with suspense and style, sparkling with warmth and humor, Wild powerfully captures the terrors and pleasures of one young woman forging ahead against all odds on a journey that maddened, strengthened, and ultimately healed her.

Quotes

One

“I’d been so many things already. A loving wife and adulteress. A beloved daughter who now spent holidays alone. An ambitious overachiever and aspiring writer who hopped from one meaningless job to the next while dabbling dangerously with drugs and sleeping with too many men. I was the granddaughter of a Pennsylvania coal miner, the daughter of a steelworker turned salesman. After my parents split up, I lived with my mother, brother, and sister in apartment complexes populated by single mothers and their kids. As a teen, I lived back-to-the-land style in the Minnesota northwoods in a house that didn’t have an indoor toilet, electricity, or running water. In spite of this, I’d become a high school cheerleader and homecoming queen, and then I went off to college and became a left-wing feminist campus radical.”

Two

“‘You need a shave, girl!,’ she bellowed, then laughed in the same raucous way she had when she’d said how big my pack was. ‘Nah,’ she said, blowing smoke from her mouth. ‘I’m just giving  you shit. I think it’s neat you do what you want. Not enough chicks do that, if you ask me–just tell society and their expectations to go fuck themselves. If more women did that, we’d be better off.'”

Three

“The Universe, I’d learned, was never ever kidding. It would take whatever it wanted and it would never give it back.”

Four

“This was once Mazama, I kept reminding myself. This was once a mountain that stood nearly 12,000 feet tall and then had its heart removed. This was once a wasteland of lava and pumice and ash. This was once an empty bowl that took hundreds of years to fill. But hard as I tried, I couldn’t see them in my mind’s eye. Not the mountain or the wasteland or the empty bowl. They simply were not there anymore. There was only the stillness and silence of that water: what a mountain and a wasteland and an empty bowl turned into after the healing began.”

Five

“There’s no way to know what makes one thing happen and not another. What leads to what. What destroys what. What causes what to flourish or die or take another course.”

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

The End

IMG_1289.JPG

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

One thought on “Ashley Quotes Things – Wild by Cheryl Strayed

Leave a Reply

