Monster Volumes 5 & 6 by Naoki Urasawa

Synopsis

I’m actually going to refrain from writing synopses for these, as I’m getting pretty far in this series and would have to spoil lots of things to tell you what these volumes are about. So basically, if you haven’t read these yet and crime/drama/horror is your thing, start this series!

Monster, Volume 5: After the Carnival by Naoki Urasawa

★★
Genre: Crime/Mystery/Horror/Manga
Release Date: May 1997
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

monstervolume5afterthecarnival.jpg

finally made a Library trip early January, and this was the first book I snatched up before doing anything else. I had taken a  break from my frequent Library trips during the Holidays, being busy with other things and books, but I was ecstatic to jump back into the series!

I really enjoyed this volume and was on the edge of my seat excited to find out what was going to happen next. I’m so incredibly invested in this story, and I was so happy to be back with the characters.

I loved the continued development Tenma is going through in this volume. We can really start to see how the years have, without doubt, started to wear on his character. I’m intensely curious to see what happens to Tenma as the volumes continue to progress. It’s still apparent that he is, like, the purest cinnamon roll to ever live, but he’s also starting to appear stretched pretty thin. I’m anxious to see what he will be driven to and how he will respond.

He’s becoming more wild by the volume.

I’m focussing on him, but the other characters received some excellent development as well. especially liked seeing the return of a favorite character of mine. She’s been sorely missed on my end and seeing her pop back into the story was so exciting! I actually quite enjoyed the side plot of this story.

I’m going to stop myself from gushing now and just end by saying I loved this book. It was an excellent addition to the series, and I definitely recommend it.

Monster, Volume 6: The Secret Woods by Naoki Urasawa

★★★½
Genre: Crime/Mystery/Horror/Manga
Release Date: May 1997
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

monstervolume6thesecretwoods

This volume was a little slow-paced and erratic for my tastes. I’m actually used to this series being a bit erratic by now, but I don’t think it worked well in this volume. I liked the new story lines that were introduced; I just didn’t particularly like how they were introduced.

I felt that a bit of too much unaccounted for time passed between this volume and the last without enough explanation or scene set up. There was also a bit too much rushing happening in one of the new side story lines. Once again, I liked it all, but the execution could have definitely been better.

Like the last volume, there was a female character that I was eager to see pop back into the story. She definitely added some interesting new information and made for some extra tension. But, at the same time, I wasn’t overly impressed with the plot she was given. Well, actually, I guess I was and I wasn’t. Just because it wasn’t what I wanted, it was still interesting and exciting.

I noticed that this volume and the last were published the same month, and I wonder if that’s why I felt this volume wasn’t as good. Perhaps it was a bit too rushed because of that double release. I’m just speculating, but it might explain a few things for me.

AnywayI definitely still recommend this book, as it was nearly as gripping as the other volumes. I’m loving how this story is unfolding, and I’m exciting to continue with it. I checked out volumes 7 and 8 from the Library earlier this week!

The End

Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 8.26.08 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

5 thoughts on “Monster Volumes 5 & 6 by Naoki Urasawa

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed Monster. I think what I didn’t like was that you know who the killer is. It’s no secret. And I wanted Mystery. Or at least MORE thriller. Idk. I’d heard it compared to Death Note. Which was a lofty comparison that no book can live up to. What are your favorite Manga genres? My husband reads horror. And I like Fantasy, Shoju, Slice of Life, and the occasion Case Closed Mystery.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can definitely see how that can affect your reading experience. I didn’t feel particularly attached to Death Note, having not really liked that series, but I can definitely see why so many people do. Different tastes at it’s best, haha.
      I actually just recently got back into reading Manga. I used to read a lot when I was in high school, but then sort of fell out of it for a quite a few years, so if you want to recommend anything, I’d love to add them to my TBR! I’m up for just about anything.

      Like

Leave a Reply

