Ren & Stimpy Comic Books – Mini Reviews

*I will not be writing synopses for any of these reviews. If you’ve seen Ren & Stimpy before, you basically know what you’re getting into. If you haven’t, go dig out some old Ren & Stimpy cartoons from the bowels of the internet ASAP.*

The Ren & Stimpy Show “Kid Stimpy” by Dan Slott, Mike Kazaleh, Ken Mitchroney, Brad K. Joyce, and Ed Lazellari

★★
Genre: Based on TV/Humor
Release Date: June 1993
Source: Comic Store– Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

Ren_&_Stimpy_Show_Vol_1_7.jpg

This comic was funny. It didn’t have me crumpled on the floor in a heap of laughter, but it had me smiling quite frequently and even LOLing every now and then.

The content in this comic felt a bit disparate. I didn’t feel like the two topics fit together in the way the artists wanted them to. It was a bit disconcerting to go back and forth, and I found myself having to readjust every time the story switched. And, since the comic was so short, I think it’s the main reason this one didn’t get 5 stars from me.

I also found that the humor could have been a bit better. As I said, I was smiling and laughing, just not as much as I should have been. Ren & Stimpy are (were?) hilarious, and this comic didn’t reach hilarious status.

Still, I know these are old, but if you come across this, definitely pick it up. It’s totally worth the read.

The Ren & Stimpy Show Holiday Special “Black Mail, White Christmas, Green Moulah Parts 1 and 2” by Dan Slott, Mike Kazaleh, Brad K. Joyce, and Ed Lazellari

★★
Genre: Based on TV/Humor
Release Date: February 1994
Source: Comic Store– Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

renandstimpy2.jpg

Now, this Ren & Stimpy comic really stepped up to the plate. This comic was everything Ren & Stimpy should be, and it definitely reached the hilarious bar. I laughed out loud much more in this one.

I loved the storyline of this. It was just ridiculous enough and completely felt like something these two idiots would get up to. Their characters worked so well with the story and had me laughing pretty good.

I liked the story, I like the art, and I definitely recommend keeping your eyes open for this comic book. It’s worth the read if you get the chance.

The Ren & Stimpy Show “Native Son” by Dan Slott, Ken Mitchroney, Brad K. Joyce, and Ed Lazellari

★★
Genre: Based on TV/Humor
Release Date: August 1993
Source: Comic Store– Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

ren&stimpynativeson.jpg

This was by far the best of the 3 Ren & Stimpy comics I read. It was constantly laugh out loud funny, and the story lines were excellent, maybe even beyond excellent. I tried to pick a favorite story that happens within this comic, and I just can’t choose. They were all so fun!

This comic actually has 2 larger stories and one minor story. All 3 are absolutely golden. I loved the first one. It was funny and the humor was so on point. I laughed so much. The little short is between the larger stories was perfection. I didn’t know I could adore 2 pages so much.The final story was my least favorite, but by no means any less wonderful. It was so much fun to read.

This comic book was such a delight! The art was well-drawn, the coloring was perfect, and the characters were written exactly how they should be. In this one, the laughs were through the roof.

I’m going to go further than with the last 2 comics and say that if you like(d) Ren & Stimpy, you should probably make an effort to get your hands on this one. It’s a must-read for fans of the show!

The End

Screen Shot 2017-01-27 at 7.13.35 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

4 thoughts on “Ren & Stimpy Comic Books – Mini Reviews

    1. Me too! I hadn’t realized either until I came across these in a 50¢ box at a comic store. They were such a fun find. Thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

