Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

Synopsis

Alison is not a normal girl. She has synthesis, and she killed a girl. Well, that’s all she can glean from the situation anyway. One minute the girl she couldn’t stand was there and the next she was gone–disintegrated because of Alison’s abilities. Or, is there something else going on? What do aliens and other worlds have to do with Alison and the new scientist that shows up at the mental institute she’s been confined to? What is in store for Alison as she uncovers buried secrets and learns more about her condition?

Ultraviolet (Ultraviolet #1) by R.J. Anderson

★★
Genre: Ya Science Fiction/Genre Bending
Release Date: September 2011
Source: Thrift Books– Bought
On My Shelf: No

ultraviolet.jpg

Harumph. This was an…ugh, I don’t even know how to describe this. It wasn’t horrible, but I didn’t like it either. This was such a weird read.

I will say that this book started out strongly, and I actually really enjoyed the first 50 pages. I liked the introduction of the characters and the mystery of the plot. Man, I was ready. I was especially excited because this book has such a gorgeous cover. But, I had set myself up for disappointment.

Reading that middle section was like army crawling through hot ashes and not being able to see the end because the smoke was so thick.

This middle-section, which honestly turns out to be about 2/3 of the book, was so boring. Oh. Mi. Gosh. It was excruciating to try to get through. The main character became more unbearable by the second. Her and the plot have absolutely zero development, and I’ve already forgotten most of what happens. But, I do know that the MC would have had a hell of a lot less problems if she would have just freaking talked to someone and not blamed her problems on literally everyone else, taking absolutely none of the blame. I mean, I usually don’t mind reading some good angst, because I, myself, am a pretty angsty personbut this was just ridiculous and unbearable.

She was so frustrating, and because there was almost nothing happening with the plot, it was mainly just the MC constantly complaining and always explaining things with the woe-is-me mentality. It just got so old so fast, and, I’m not going to lie, I skimmed heavily until about the last 60 pages.

First off, I think I was also bored in the middle part because, on top of not caring about what the plot or MC was doing, the author repeated herself a lotOnce it’s revealed that the MC has synthesis, meaning her senses are out of whack and often overlap causing disarray on occasion, Anderson talks about it so much. Now, this may be a personal thing, but I’m already fairly familiar with this disorder, so I found myself rolling my eyes each time Anderson launched into another long-winded description, which happened frequently for about 200 pages. I may be going out on a limb here, but I think that even someone unfamiliar with the disorder doesn’t need to be this meticulously informed. I thought the concept had great potential for the plot as well as character development, but it was all just grossly overdone and, yet, at the same time incredibly underdeveloped.

Then there’s the romance. Blatantly: I hated it. There was no chemistry between the characters, at all. I found their relationship bland and was not tuned into it at all. Also, the way it originated was so unbelievable (like, quite literally, I don’t believe those circumstances would ever happen in real life), and it was super unsettling, verging on creepy. The male love interest’s age of our MC, who is 16 when she meets him, is never specified, but it can be assumed that he is at least in his early 20s, and that’s me being generous. I find it much more likely that he is even older at maybe mid to even upper 20s. And, what business does someone at that age have with a 16-year-old girl in a mental institution? Christ, I just don’t like it. Plus, he was pretty explicitly using her for his personal benefit the whole. I loved the diversity, but, damn, I did not like that romance.

Then, we’re thrown into the most ridiculously crazy ending that I’ve ever read. And, I don’t mean that as a compliment. Anderson went from all the chill in the world to literally no chill ever at all to the point of insanity. I actually did enjoy reading the last bit of the story, but I couldn’t ignore that it literally did not fit with the rest of the story at allI felt it was poorly planned and did not rectify how bored I was for the previous 200 pages. Also, it, plainly, didn’t make sense. To me, although I enjoyed reading it, it did not fit with the plot of the opening or what little of it built throughout the book. It was just, pardon my blatancy, dumb, but, it wouldn’t have been if the rest of the story had properly fit with and built up to the ending, which it didn’t. Really, this book was 3 books trying to be one book, and we all know that never works.

Also, I did not like how every. single. character. was redeemed at the end. This whole book did nothing but build up a mountain of angst that surmounted to so much reason to hate so many of the characters. But, of course, thanks to way too many obnoxious and unnecessary detours Anderson took the plot on in the end, literally every character but 2 are redeemed (and one of them is introduced in the last 80 pages as the main “bad guy” of it all). It was unnecessary and is not now character development works.

Overall, this story had such potential, but it was all squandered on poor execution and lack of character building. I just really did not enjoy this. The beginning was good, the middle was boring, and the end was incredibly underwhelming. However, I did think that Anderson’s writing was quite beautiful. She really does have a great deal of talent in the writing department, but her execution is an entirely different story (pun?) and not a good one.

Even if her writing caused me to rate this 2 stars instead of 1, I still don’t think it’s worth reading, and I wouldn’t recommend it. It seems there’s a second book in this series, but I have zero desire to read it, so I won’t be picking it up.

Book Depository – $6.74

The End

Screen Shot 2017-01-26 at 5.56.25 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

2 thoughts on “Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

Leave a Reply

