Newt Scamander: A Movie Scrapbook and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay

Newt Scamander: A Movie Scrapbook by Candlewick Press 

★★
Genre: Nonfiction/Movie Companion
Release Date: November 2016
Source: Bought with Birthday Money
On My Shelf: Yes

newtscamanderamoviescrapbook

Synopsis

A collection of facts, information, and interactive props that went into the making of the movie Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them.

Review

I picked this book up with some birthday money, and I’m so freaking glad I did! This book was so fun to read through, and I loved every second of it–especially how interactive it was. There were so many fun things to pull out, flip through, and admire.

It was interesting and enjoyable to experience all the fun little extras that go with the movie and to laugh a bit more with the characters and learn a little about the production. I will say, though, that if you’re looking for an in-depth examination of the making of the movie, this is not the book that is going to give you that. But, if you are looking for a beautiful, interactive book with fun tidbits scattered throughout, then I highly recommend checking this one out.

When I say this book is beautiful, I really mean it.This book is so aesthetically pleasing I may have drooled a bit while reading it. This is a gorgeous addition to my shelf and to my Harry Potter collection. I’m so in love with it.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who thinks it sounds interesting or anyone looking to add to their Harry Potter collection. This is a beautiful book I know I will enjoy flipping through again and again!

Book Depository  – $14.65

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K. Rowling

★★
Genre: Screenplay/Fantasy
Release Date: November 2016
Source: Christmas Gift
On My Shelf: Yes

fantasticbeastsandwheretofindthem

Synopsis

Does this book even need a synopsis?

Review

After finishing the movie scrapbook, I realized how much I was missing all the characters, so I decided to read the screenplay. This was not something I was sure I was actually going to do, but I needed more of the characters ASAP, so I opened this book. And, I really loved it.

I do have to say that the reason, I think, I enjoyed this so much was because I had already seen the movie and am anxiously awaiting the DVD release. Reading this was a great way to re-experience the magic. Because I had already seen the movie, I could clearly picture all the scenes, so, really, this was like watching the movie all over again, which was exactly what I needed. So, what I’m trying to say here is that, I feel, circumstance had a great deal to do with how much I enjoyed reading this screenplay.

Circumstance, however, did not affect how much I adored the illustrations. They were so beautiful I can’t even put properly into words my love for them. They made reading the story so much more interesting in a way, because I was constantly looking forward to what beast was going to be re-imagined next. They were such a joy and oh so magical.

Another thing that I really liked about reading the screenplay was getting all the extra blocking and suggested emotion for the actors. Reading all of it actually helped me understand some of the scenes better and made me really see that emotion more in how each actor/ress portrayed their character. It also helped me notice more details about the many of the scenes, which I will be keeping in mind and my eyes open to when I watch the movie again.

Overall, I think I do recommend reading this screenplay, but I also recommend watching the movie first. This was a magical experience, and it helped me out of a reading slump. I just love Harry Potter so much. Now, excuse me while I go sob over the magic of it all.

Book Depository – $12.89

The End

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 8.43.21 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Newt Scamander: A Movie Scrapbook and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay

Leave a Reply

