Faith, Vol. 1: Hollywood and Vine by Jody Houser

Synopsis

Faith is a new superhero in the heart of Hollywood. She recently had a falling out with her former band of superheroes as well as a bad breakup. Now, she’s packed up, moved to a new city, and started a job as a hard-hitting reporter…well, or so she wishes. She’s currently going by the alias of Summer and working at an internet news, if you can call it that, website source. Still, at least she likes her coworkers and has a few friends leftover from her old life. What could Hollywood possibly have in store for this lovable “Psiot”? Whatever it is, I can assure you it won’t be boring!

Collects issues #1-4

Faith, Vol. 1: Hollywood and Vine by Jody Houser, Francis Portela, Marguerite Sauvage, Andrew Dalhouse, Dave Sharpe, Joe Quinones, Stephanie Hans, and Michael Spicer

★★
Genre: Comic Book/Superhero
Release Date: July 2016
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

faithvol1hollywoodandvine

I was excited to come across this book at the Library! I had been wanting to read it for awhile now and actually read a later issue of it. I actually thought what I was reading was the first issue when I read it, but I was confused and for that I am thankful. I was so confused as to how what I read could have been the start of a new series. This makes way more sense for the introduction of a new super hero.

I have to say, I was not completely sold when I read that single issue, feeling that I needed more development all-around. But, now that I’ve started from the beginning, I can honestly say that I am incredibly in love with Faith, her story, and her world. This is an awesome new (well, as new as it can be for coming out last July) comic series, and I’m so glad it’s a thing that now exists.

The story starts out pretty light in this volume, but quickly become more intense as the plot unfolds and the separate story lines start coming together. I was on the edge of my seat waiting to for what would happen next and also what reference would slip out of Faith’s mouth.

That was one of the best parts! Faith is an awesome, dimensional, and kick-butt super hero, but she is also a huge nerd. Ahhh, I just love everything about her so much. She’s marvelous. Oh, and to make things better, she’s (I don’t mean for this to come out disrespectfully through my blatancy) fat, which is left unaddressed, because her weight is not something that needs to be addressed. Faith is super confident and honestly is just an all-around killer new role model for women of any age. However, I do think she’ll find a special place in the hearts of my fellow millennials, as she’s struggling to make a living in L.A. and find the place she fits into in the world.

The rest of the characters are just as wonderful as well as super diverse. There is definitely some great diversity happening in this comic volume, including both race and gender diversity. This was so awesome to see brought to the table in this genre. And, it was awesome that the diversity occurs naturally as it does in the real world. The creators did not treat the diversity as making a statement, but rather as an observation of how people naturally occur in big cities (or even small ones) in this melting pot of a country. I loved that about this comic and definitely think it’s a trend that needs to continue.

On top of all the praise I’m giving the story (including writing) and characters of this volume, I must now praise the art. These panels are beautifully drawn that I had no problem getting completely sucked in and immersing myself in this story. I loved the style and the layout and the detail and the coloring and…just…everythingThese panels were a treat to the eyes, and combined on each page, were the best way to make the story come to life in a grand way. 

Overall, this is an excellent series, and I absolutely recommend picking it up so that you can experience this magical story for yourself. I can’t wait to pick up the next volume. I’m hoping the Library has it on my next trip there!

Book Depository – $7.38

The End

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 3.40.20 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “Faith, Vol. 1: Hollywood and Vine by Jody Houser

Leave a Reply

