Mini Movie Reviews – Horror

I enjoy watching movies just as much as I enjoy reading. So, I’ve decided that bi weekly on Saturdays I’m going to post some mini movie reviews!

I’m kicking this new feature off with some horror movies I’ve recently watched.

Carnival of Souls

Directed by Herk Harvey


Genre: 
Horror/Suspense
Released:
1962
Run Time:
78 Minutes
Source:
Half Price Books – Bought
On My Shelf:
Yes

Scare Level: 4/5 – will keep you awake after watching.

carnivalofsouls.jpg

From IMDB

“After a traumatic accident, a woman becomes drawn to a mysterious abandoned carnival.”

Review

I didn’t know what to expect from this movie. I had vaguely heard about it before, but I honestly didn’t know really anything about it before watching. I was pleasantly surprised by this story – AKA I loved it!

The plot is incredibly engaging and suspenseful. I was on the edge of my seat needing to know what was going to happen next yet simultaneously afraid of what it would be. 

Although I thought the beginning started a little fast, I liked the jolt that immersed me immediately into the plot. This story was fast-paced and actually made me think about what was happening. This was not just a jump-scare horror, it was also verging on a psychological thriller. It was based in the supernatural, but it still felt incredibly believable.

The acting helped that. This movie was well-cast, well-acted, and executed. I believed the characters, especially the protagonist. I really liked her character. She was snarky and dimensional, and just all around awesome. I was so invested in her character and this story, wanting everything to work out for her in the end.

However, the ending of the movie was fairly predictable after a certain point, but I still really liked it. It was a great twist ending that was also left open for interpretation, which is something I love when done right. This movie did it right.

Overall, I definitely recommend watching this one if it sounds up your alley. It was excellent.

Dire Wolf

Directed by Fred Olen Ray


Genre: 
Horror/Thriller
Released: 
2009
Run Time:
86 Minutes
Source:
Shopko – Horror Movie Bundle – Bought
On My Shelf: 
Yes

Scare Level: 1/5 – mainly just gore.

direwolf.jpg

From IMDB

“A vicious genetically modified creature that’s half human and half dire wolf escapes from a research facility so it can go on a murderous rampage in a quiet rural community. It’s up to the easygoing Sheriff Parker, eager game warden Jim, and a couple of government agents to stop the beast before things get too out of hand.”

Review

If you like carnage candy, this is the movie for you. The gore in this movie is taken to unrealistic heights, but I absolutely loved it. This one is about a werewolf, so you can gauge the kind of gore to expect. No human on human violence here, just a werewolf tearing people to shreds.

really enjoyed the coloring/editing of this movie. It was all very vibrant, not what you’d usually expect from a werewolf movie, which tend to be more dark and obscure. It was very cool to see something so different.

Although the plot of this one moved quickly and wasn’t super solid, I really enjoyed it. I honestly loved everything about this plot. It wasn’t perfect, but it was so fun to watch unravel. I loved everything up till the credits rolled, including the acting. Oh my goodness, the actors and actresses did a great job with this one. Even though it all seemed so unrealistic, they made it totally believable.

I also really enjoyed the cheesy special effects. They were completely ridiculous and absolutely perfect.

This movie was just all around an utter joy to watch. It deserved better than to be included in a made-for-DVD horror bundle pack. If you can get your hands on this movie, I suggest you do.

Killjoy

Directed by Craig Ross Jr.


Genre: 
Horror/Thriller
Released:
2000
Run Time:
72 Minutes
Source:
Shopko – Horror Movie Bundle – Bought
On My Shelf: 
No

Scare Level: 0/5 – laughable.

killjoy.jpg

From IMDB

“Three youngsters encounter an evil clown.”

Review

Unlike the last two, this movie was not excellent. I can’t say I really enjoyed this one at all. The premise was so silly it was comical, which it seemed the director might have been slightly going for? But, it didn’t work for me.

I found the effects ridiculous, the story unrealistic, and, though the acting was kind of all right, it just wasn’t coming wasn’t coming together for me.

I did happen to chuckle a few times, regardless if I was supposed to or not, but mostly this movie was just cringe-worthy. I don’t recommend wasting your time on this one.

The End

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

