The Simpsons Comics: Hit the Road! by Matt Groening

Synopsis

America’s Favorite Family is in a new medium! This collection creates 4 all-new stories that involve our favorite yellow family. Homer becomes the spokesperson for all that is hip, Grandpa tries to surf, the family takes off to Scotland, and Krusty’s identity is stolen. With a road map tailored for each member of The Simpsons Family, this book delivers laugh after laugh without cease.

The Simpsons Comics: Hit the Road! by Matt Groening (creator)

★★
Genre: Comic Book/Humor
Release Date: 2008
Source: Half Price Books – Bought
On My Shelf: Yes

simpsonscomicshittheroad.jpg

I’m not sure if you already know this about me, but I love The Simpsons. I’ve been watching them since I was 11 (13 years if you care about that sort of math). I watched them damn-near religiously in middle and high school every night at 22:00. (That’s when they were on TV.) It was a nightly ritual for me for sure. I love these goons. This was the liberal show that young me needed and adult me still does too. Even now, I watch this family all the time, especially since FXX on Cable plays the show all the time.

That’s all besides the point, though, and pretty unnecessary. Sorry for my rant. Anyway, on to this comic collection. I really enjoy reading Simpsons comics and pick them up every chance I get. They typically do a good job capturing the satire and art of the show. This comic was no different. I laughed out loud so many times and was anxious to find what the next joke/development would be.

The writing found inside these pages was incredibly comparable to the show. The character voices came across clearly and each Simspon (or towns member) acted true to character. I loved reading this adventure, and I especially loved the road maps drawn and included for each family member. They were probably the highlight of the comic for me.

That being said, I didn’t think the title of the collection fit well with what was insideBasically, the only thing it connected with well were the drawn maps, which coincidentally also did not fit super well with the other content, and the one story about Scotland. It may seem like a silly complaint, but it feels pretty valid to me for some reason.

Lastly, as mentioned above, the art of Simpsons comic books is almost always on point. This collection passed the test with flying colors in my eyes. (literally? double pun?The style and coloring were directly comparable to the show and were really well done.

So, why 4 stars instead of 5? I was waiting for that “wow moment,” but it never quite came. Overall, though, this is still such a fun read for any Simpsons fan, and I like so totally recommend checking it out dude.

Book Depostory – $13.30

The End

IMG_6147.JPG

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “The Simpsons Comics: Hit the Road! by Matt Groening

Leave a Reply

