2017 Sci-Fi Challenges – One of My Own and 2 Hosted by Another

If you saw my 2017 bookish resolutions post, you’ll remember that I said I’m going to read a ton of sci-fi this year. I’m excited! I’m happy to have a vague excuse to read so much of my favorite genre.

So, I’ve decided to keep track of my challenges with this post.
I’ll be updating this as the year progresses, and I finish books.

Women of Sci-Fi

This is a challenge I decided to create on my own to add a bit of diversity into the other sci-fi challenges I’m going to be working through.

If you would like to participate with me, please do!
Feel free to comment on this post after you finish a book, add me on Goodreads and discuss there. I can definitely create a group if you’re interested! Or follow me on Instagram and feel free to DM me any time about any book. Same goes for Tumblr. All links can be found below.

This challenge is 17 books, which turns out to be a little more than a book a month. If you want to participate feel free to read as many or as few as you want. I’ll be reading these in order and will be crossing them off as I finish them, so feel free to discuss any I’ve finished or am currently reading with me!

  1. Frankenstein by Mary Shelly
  2. Armageddon Cometh by J.K. Accinni
  3. Beholder’s Eye by Julie E. Czerneda
  4. Downbelow Station by C.J. Cherryh
  5. Kindred by Octavia E. Butler
  6. Midnight Robber by Nalo Hopkinson
  7. Rogue Genesis by Ceri London
  8. Sarah Canary by Karen Joy Fowler
  9. Shadow Over Avalon by C.N. Lesley
  10. Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold
  11. Shikasta by Doris Lessing
  12. Starshine by G.S. Jennsen
  13. Synners by Pat Cadigan
  14. The Children of Men by P.D. James
  15. The Dispossessed by Ursula K. LeGuin
  16. To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
  17. Up the Walls of the World by James Triptree, Jr. (Alice Sheldon)

Decades of Sci-Fi

These next two challenges are hosted by @scifiandscary. Check them out and consider joining in!

  1. In the Days of the Comet by H.G. Wells
  2. A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  3. The Clockwork Man by William Jablonsky
  4. Pirates of Venus by Edgar Rice Burroughs.
  5. What Mad Universe by Fredric Brown
  6. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury
  7. Ubik by Philip K. Dick
  8. Lucifer’s Hammer by Larry Niven
  9. Neuromancer by William Gibson
  10. Snowcrash by Neal Stephenson
  11. Ready Player One by Earnest Cline
  12. Blindsight by Peter Watts

Wired into Sci-Fi

  1. Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
  2. Rendezvous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke
  3. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy #1 by Douglas Adams
  4. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  5. The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells
  6. Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne
  7. Solaris by Stanislaw Lem
  8. Ringworld by Larry Niven
  9. Tau Zero by Poul Anderson
  10. 1984 by George Orwell
  11. Earth Abides by George R. Stewart
  12. Mission of Gravity by Hal Clement
  13. Ring Around the Sun by Cliffard D. Simak
  14. The Demolished Man by Alfred Bester
  15. The Long Tomorrow by Leigh Brackett
  16. When Worlds Collide by Philip Wylie
  17. The Death of Grass by John Christopher
  18. The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  19. Starship Troopers by Robert A. Heinlein
  20. The Sirens of Titan by Kurt Vonnegut
  21. The Drowned World by J.G. Ballard
  22. Make Room! Make Room! by Henry Harrison
  23. Logan’s Run by William F. Nolan
  24. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
  25. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep by Philip K. Dick
  26. The Female Man by Joanna Russ
  27. Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks
  28. A Canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M. Miller Jr.
  29. Foundation by Isaac Asimov
  30. Life by Gwyneth Jones

The End

Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 10.09.27 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “2017 Sci-Fi Challenges – One of My Own and 2 Hosted by Another

Leave a Reply

