Monday Wrap-Up – 1/9/17 + Book Haul

How was everyone’s first actual week of 2017? Did it go well? Did you do fun things? Did you read good books?

My reading year has been starting out disappointing. I’ve finished 1 book I didn’t like, 2 that were just okay, and only 1 that I actually truly enjoyed all of.

But, it’s a new week and there are new books to be read! I am not discouraged.

Here’s what happened last week on the blog and more book related occurrences.

Screen Shot 2017-01-08 at 11.57.11 AM.png

Blog Posts

Tuesday: 2016 Wrap-Up

Wednesday: Playlist  – Ginny Weasley
and
Book Review – Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days by G. Willow Wilson

Thursday: 2017 Book Resolutions + Book Haul

Friday: Book Review – Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

Review Copies Received

Done Dirt Cheap by Sarah Nicole Lemon

Fly by Night by Frances Hardinge

The Inconceivable Life of Quinn by Marianna Baer

Dreams and Shadows by Jeffrey Collyer

The Other Inheritance by Rebecca Jaycox

A Darker Shade of Sorcery by William Collins

Bought

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

Misery by Stephen King

11/22/63 by Stephen King

Chamber of Horrors Spellbinder Fearson’s Finest Fiction *no image available*

Added to TBR

Ruined by M.C. Frank

The Jersey Devil by Hunter Shea

Cartoon Network: Super Secret Crisis Wars!, Vol. 1 by Louise Simonson

Freeks by Amanda Hocking

You Are Here: An Owner’s Manual for Dangerous Minds by Jenny Lawson

Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl

The Circle by Dave Eggers

Something in the Wine by Jae

Sarah by Teri Polan

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Herbal Goddess: Discover the Amazing Spirit of 12 Healing Herbs with Teas, Potions, Salves, Food, Yoga, and More by Amy Jirsa

Superman: Red Son by Mark Millar

Finished

Holy Cow! A Free Cartoon Network Comic! by Michael Kraiger 

Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone 

The Ren & Stimpy Show “Kid Stimpy” (Issue #7) by Dan Slott 

Selected: A Young Adult Sci-Fi Adventure (The Zaratan Trilogy Book 1) by Evelyn Lederman 

Book Haul

IMG_3052.JPG

Now, on to some pretty photos of pretty books!

Giftcard Book Haul

I forgot to include 2 books I bought with a giftcard in last week’s haul, so, here they are. Both are ones I’ve been wanting for a while, so I’m happy to finally have my hands on them.

Kenobi by John Jackson Miller and TARDIS Bookmark

img_3049

I’ve been wanting this book for awhile, so I finally picked up a copy.

Ghosts from Our Past by Erin Gilbert, Abby L. Yates, and Andrew Shaffer

img_3050

How could I not?

img_3051

Thrift Store Haul

I’m super happy about my thrift store finds from yesterday, especially the Stephen King ones! All of these were under $7.

Chamber of Horrors Spellbinder Fearson’s Finest Fiction

img_3053

This looked too interesting to pass up.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

img_3054

This is actually my third copy of this book, but I couldn’t pass up that cover. It’s so pretty!

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

img_3055

I’ve been wanting this edition for awhile. Couldn’t pass it up.

Misery by Stephen King

img_3056

What. A. Find.

img_3057

Seriously, I’m so happy about this one! It was only $2.

11/22/63 by Stephen King

img_3058

This is a first edition. Another great find for a mere $2.

The End

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend. Read anything good? Anything to recommend?

Screen Shot 2017-01-09 at 1.43.17 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

6 thoughts on “Monday Wrap-Up – 1/9/17 + Book Haul

    1. I just…eek I have a lot of complaints about it. I’m diagnosed with OCD and I thought it was poorly portrayed in the book and that the author romanticized it and made it out to be something “quirky” and “cute” that the character has. And (ah I don’t want to ruin anything!) but basically by the end insta-love “cures” her. I’m going to be posting a more in depth review later tonight if your curious as to more complaints I had 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh those are so annoying. A lot of reviews said it didn’t poorly portray it but everything you said makes it sound like it did. Hmm, probably going to stay away from this lmao

        Like

      2. Yea, I was baffled by the amount of praise the books got, but I guess that’s what having an unpopular opinion is haha. I think it’s a good choice not to read it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

