Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

Synopsis

Tegan Lockwood is a wonderful musician. She can play piano like no other and has the pipes to go along with it. In fact, she was so good that she got into a pristine college stateside where she could hone her skills. It turns out her parents couldn’t afford to send her, though. She wasn’t too upset, resolved to work for the family’s hotel business for the foreseeable future. Everything changes, though, when American Superstar Mason Keane chooses their UK-based hotel as a getaway for healing. Will he be able to melt Tegan’s bitter apathy towards the world, or will stronger forces work to keep them apart?

Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

★★★½
Genre: Romance/New Adult
Release Date: June 2016
Source: Free Copy Provided by Author
On My Shelf: Yes

melodyskey.jpg

really enjoyed this story. I completely fell in love with these characters and was so invested in how everything was going to play out. The plot grabbed me from the first chapter. I can honestly tell you that every time I sat down to read this I became more and more invested. This book made me laugh, cry, squeal, giggle and everything in between. There was never a lull in the story and the plot consistently built throughout.

I do have to say that there were a few inconsistencies that caused me to stop and double take on a sentence or paragraph here and there. However, it was nothing that was excessively detrimental for the story. It was more just a few instances where I stopped to scratch my head and shrug something off in a mild confusion.

The characters made it incredibly easy to do that. Just about every character introduced was dimensional and received a glorious amount of development. I was able to easily tell them all apart as they were all written wonderfully and with depth. This is especially true for our main characters. Tegan and Mason are incredibly likable and you instantly want them to have all their wishes come true. I loved their chemistry and overall enjoyed where the story took them.

Both characters were given backstories that were believable and clearly made them the people they currently are. This book deals with some heavy themes like depression, cutting, and rape, but not in an exploitative way: instead, in a way that gives us hope that we can heal from the past and move on. Even though this was a romance, it was definitely not the “light and fluffy” sort. On top of the characters having depth, the story did too.

Plus, they were incredibly nerdy and that made them all the more lovable. I was totally geeking over all the references, loving every single one of them. And the Star Wars quote used at the end just made me all the happier. Everything about the references throughout this book were perfect.

On top of all that good, the writing was also really well done. There were so many passages that I loved. I was highlighting them left and right. (Or up and down? both?) I was seriously impressed with Coryell’s skill in weaving a story in an incredibly enjoyable and entrancing way. I honestly don’t have a complaint about the way the story was written. I could say that there were a few grammatical and spelling errors, but even that complaint didn’t bother me at all because I was so intrigued by Coryell’s writing and storytelling style.

So, if I loved everything so much, why the docking of the half a star? Here’s, really quick, a list of my few and far in between complaints. There were a few inconsistencies in the storytelling. Some of the events felt a little more unbelievable than they would be in real life. Since this was realistic fiction, I found the story a little stretched at points. In other parts, I found that the story could have been condensed. There were a few dragging ideas and concepts that could have been wrapped up quicker. Lastly, I get it, Mason has a crooked grin and green eyes. I did not need to be constantly reminded. It got too repetitious after a while.

That list seems long, but it really isn’t. And, I liked this story too much to elaborate further, so they’re more just constructive criticisms. 

Other than these few and, as I’ve said, far in between complaints, this book was excellent, and I recommend it to anyone looking for a good romantic story. This was gripping, intense, and magical. Definitely check this one out if you’re looking for something new to read!

Find it on Amazon.

*I was provided with a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. That did not sway my thoughts; all opinions are and remain my own.*

The End

That’s it for me this week! Have a great weekend everyone. I wish you all the best books.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 4.25.10 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Melody’s Key by Dallas Coryell

Leave a Reply

