Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days by G. Willow Wilson

Synopsis

Kamala has faced some pretty tough villains as well as some pretty tough strains on personal relationships, but things are about to get a whole lot harder. There’s some sort of invasion happening, and it’s up to Kamala to keep New Jersey safe. Not only that, it’s way more personal. The continued existence of her family and friends also rests on her shoulders. What is a girl to do? I guess you’ll have to pick up this volume and find out.

Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days by G. Willow Wilson and Adrian Alphona

★★
Genre: Superhero/Comic Book
Release Date: December 2015
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

msmarvelvol4.jpg

Quick side note before I start the actual review. I realized that the 3rd and final installment of the Mravel Now! Black Widow series is also titled Last Days and also takes place right before the Secret Wars. So, are all the comics that take place before said event titled Last Days? Or, is this just a random coincidence? Anyone know?

Anyway, onward!

I honestly feel like Ms. Marvel (aka G. Willow Wilson) can do no wrong in my eyes. (Quite literally with this media being consume through eyesight?) I loved everything about this volume. It was gripping, intense, wonderful, and totally broke my heart. I mean, kind of shattered it into a million pieces, but also kind of healed it at the same time.

I really liked the plot constructed here. This story blew way up from the previous comics in this series, bringing in a villain way more menacing and apocalyptic than we’ve seen in this series so far. That has to do with more than just Ms. Marvel, though. This volume takes the story in a different direction as it is part of the new Marvel Secret Wars, which Ms. Marvel fights in (at some point I’ve been told; I haven’t actually read any Secret Wars yet). So, don’t expect any resolve at the end of this comic. Part of me didn’t like that, but the other part of me is grudgingly okay with it and curious about the continuation of the story. At least this was fun to read.

What else I really liked about this volume was the development between Kamala and her mom. I don’t want to spoil anything, but I do want to say that it’s so awesome to finally see some healthy child-parent relationships in a story like this. More often than not, we see superheroes with no parents to create their tragic backstory, or we see unhealthy relationships, or, even worse, there is just no relationship period. And, I have to say that I love seeing a complete and healthy family unit that loves and supports Kamala. It’s honestly so cool and refreshing. I sound like I’m describing a soda pop. I get the other instances in terms of story arc and character development, but I’m glad we’re seeing some diversity (in more ways than one with this comic series).

I also really liked the development of Kamala’s relationship with her best friend, Bruno. I simultaneously loved and hated what happened between them, but I think I will always feel hat way regardless of how events play out and what choices are made. Basically, they give me all the feels and probably always will. *sobs*

On top of this story and its characters being basically perfect, the art was as well. I always love the contributors’ work when it comes to Ms. Marvel. I’ve never been disappointed in any way. I love the style and the coloring and just everything.

The panels are stunning and bring the story to life. Reading Ms. Marvel feels similar to watching a movie because the art is so expressive. It brings the comic book to life as if there are special effects in each panel. The styling and execution is literally that good.

I just really love Ms. Marvel. As I said, this series can do no wrong. That being said, I haven’t read Volume 5 yet. Mainly because I haven’t had access to it, but also partly because I’m a little nervous of where it’s going to pick up, as it completely skips over The Secret Wars. It’s all a bit overwhelming, but I don’t think it will hinder me picking up Volume 5 when the opportunity presents itself.

Overall, if you have been enjoying the series, I highly recommend you continue with this volume. If you haven’t started this series yet, pick up Volume 1 asap!

Book Depository – $12.63

The End

Screen Shot 2017-01-04 at 7.36.56 PM.png

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

5 thoughts on “Ms. Marvel, Vol. 4: Last Days by G. Willow Wilson

  1. I also loved this volume. I read through vol 5. I need to pick up the next one. I think they started a new storyline. I’m not sure. In fact I’m probably wrong. lol. But I agree with what you said about healthy parent child relationships. And just the overall enjoyment of this volume. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you’re right that Vol. 5 starts something new. That sounds like what I read online. It’s just so confusing with the Secret Wars taking place in between haha. I definitely need to read it, though. Glad you agreed; thanks for reading 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

