2017 Bookish Resolutions + Book Haul

Hey everyone. I hope you’re having a great Thursday! Today I’m going to discuss my bookish resolutions for 2017 a bit and then show the last of my holiday book hauls and used bookstore finds.

The Resolution

I’m actually not making any resolutions this year, as I feel like it stresses me out too much. I’m just going to continue on with creating the life that I want, working to the best of my ability and accepting/being okay with the progress I’ve made.

That seems like a pretty good resolution in itself, I guess, doesn’t it?

The Books

1. I did set a reading goal this year on Goodreads, but I’m not going to stress over reaching it. I’ve set it at 200 books, because I want an actual challenge, unlike last year’s that I blew out of the water reading 159/100.

As I said, I’m going to be okay if I don’t reach this goal, but I will be elated if I do. It’s a win/win.

2. Become a Stephen King constant reader. I’ve started full-blown collecting King’s books, but I still have only read an embarrassing few out of everything he’s written.

adore his work, so I definitely need to be reading one of his books at all times.

3. Read at least 12 Stephen King books.

Basically goes with goal #2. I want to read at least 1 a month. I would love to read more, but I don’t want to stress over it, so I’m setting myself to at least 12.

4. I also think I’m going to participate in 1 or both of these Sci-Fi Challenges hosted by @scifiandscary, because I want an excuse to read more of my favorite genre and most of these books have been on my to-read for ages, so I have an excuse to knock those out now too.

I’ll definitely be participating in “Decades of Sci-Fi” and will most likely be participating in “Wired into Sci-Fi.” Definitely check out these challenges just in case you want to participate too!

Yours?

Do you have any bookish resolutions for 2017?

The Haul

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s look at some pretty photos of books! I had a Barnes & Noble return, so I was able to pick up 3 totally awesome books! And, I came across 2 great finds at the used bookstore.

IMG_3023.JPG

Fear Itself: The Horror of Stephen King by Chuck Miller, Tim Underwood, and Various Authors

img_3012

I was super excited to come across this first edition at the used bookstore, and I got it for practically a steal, picking it up at only $1.97.

It’s battered and bent and beat up and I love it.

Pygmalion by George Bernard-Shaw

img_3014

This was another steal at a whopping 25¢.

This is actually the book I went in the store for, so I was elated to find such a cheap and, honestly, pretty copy.

Kid’s of Appetite by David Arnold

img_3015

I’ve been wanting this book since it came out! Mostquitoland floored me, and, after meeting David Arnold at BookCon2016, he has become an easy favorite as well as auto-buy.

img_3016

It’s so pretty I might cry.

Invader Zim, Volume 2 by K.C. Green, Eric Trueheart, Dennis Hopeless, Jessie Hopeless, Dave Crossland, Savanna Ganucheau, and Warren Wucinich

img_3017

I absolutely loved the first volume, so getting my hands on this one was a must! It’s so pretty and I can’t wait to read it.

img_3018

Doctor Who: The Secret Lives of Monsters by Justin Richards

img_3019

This is a $45 book, and it was clearanced down to $12.98, so into my hands it found its way.

img_3020

img_3021

The End

img_3022

Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

4 thoughts on “2017 Bookish Resolutions + Book Haul

Leave a Reply

