Star Trek: The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation, Volume 1 by Scott Tipton and David Tipton

Synopsis

This is a crossover between Doctor Who, specifically Eleven with Amy and Rory, and Star Trek: The Next Generation‘s crew members. Something has caused the TARDIS to land inside the USS-Enterprise, something that shouldn’t be possible, even for the time-traveling Doctor. Things get even crazier when Eleven realizes that the Cybermen have paired up with known Star Trek villain The Borg to eminate the ultimate creation. And, of course, their wishes are to make everyone in the galaxy just like them. Will Eleven and Picard be able to come together to stop this new danger? Or will their strategies and wishes clash causing even more trouble?

Collects Issues #1-4

Star Trek: The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation2, Volume 1 by Scott Tipton and David Tipton

★★★½
Genre: Sci-Fi/Television-Based/Comic Book
Release Date: October 2012
Source: ComiXology – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

startrekassimilation.jpg

I don’t know how else to sum this up besides this was incredibly fun to read.

If you don’t already know, I’m a huge fan of both of these shows, so accidentally coming across this collection made me squeal just a bit. Eleven isn’t my favorite Doctor, but I still like him plenty, and Picard may be my favorite to second-favorite Star Trek captain. So, seeing this mashup made my heart happy.

I loved the plot. It was engaging, fun, and super enjoyable to read. I thought that it made sense how these two disparate things ended up together. Although I did find it all a bit confusing and hard to follow at first, hence the docking of the half-star, I thought that this was a solid plot that had merit to keep it believable. The Cyberman-Borg plot was also incredibly believable and well-written. I thought the pairing up of these two, ultimately kind of similar enemies, made a ton of sense. I can honestly say I enjoyed watching everything pan out.

I did think that there was a bit too much action and not enough explaining in some parts, but it didn’t excessively take away from the progression of the story. There were a few things that happened and weren’t explained until after or didn’t make sense until the end of a scene culmination, but not enough that it distracted too much from my enjoyment of the story.

The writing was just really well-done and the scenarios and scenes well-created. There were a few spelling errors that shouldn’t have been overlooked and a few places where sentences were framed strangely that could have easily been fixed, but, once again, it wasn’t enough to detract from my reading experience.

I thought all the characters matched their on-screen counterparts exceptionally well. Eleven was Eleven and Amy and Rory were Amy and Rory and Jean-Luc Picard was Jean-Luc Picard and so on and so forth. Everything about the character development and depth was damn-near perfect, in my opinion. I enjoyed reading the dialogue and the inner thoughts and the action. It all worked great.

The art also worked to enhance the story experience. The art was literally beyond beautiful. I loved the blurred yet defined lines and the colors and the details and just everything about it. I even had screen shot an issue-cover and used it as my phone background for a while. I seriously can’t put into words how much I loved this artwork. And the way it complemented the story was, just, ughhhhhh. Just trust me on this one, it’s gorgeous, and I recommend you read this even if only to admire the panels.

Overall, I definitely recommend this to anyone who sounds intrigued, especially to Doctor Who and Star Trek: TNG fans. You will enjoy this. I also think you could read this even if you’re not a fan of the shows or are only a fan of one or the other. There’s enough explanation that you wouldn’t be lost or lose enjoyment…at least, I don’t think so. Heck, it might even make you want to watch the shows.

Basically, if you’re intrigued, check this out. I still need to get my hands on Volume 2!

THE END

Screen Shot 2016-12-29 at 5.16.25 PM.png

 Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Star Trek: The Next Generation/Doctor Who: Assimilation, Volume 1 by Scott Tipton and David Tipton

  1. I remember when this came out and I really need to finally read it! Next Gen is my favorite Star Trek and Eleven/Amy/Rory are my favorite TARDIS team! The fact you enjoyed it makes me feel less wary of it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so much fun to read! I don’t think it was a masterpiece in any way, but the plot and themes were overall enjoyable. I hope you like it when you get around to it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

