Upside Down: A Vampire Tale by Jess Smart Smiley

Synopsis

Harold is a small, friendly vampire who eats too much candy. Although his parents warn him that the dentist is going to pull his teeth if he eats too much, Harold can’t seem to stop himself. He’s both afraid of and in love with the sweet substance. With the dentist appointment right around the corner, what could Harold possibly get himself involved with? And what will it all have to do with the village witch and the local scientist?

Upside Down: A Vampire Tale (Upside Down #1) by Jess Smart Smiley

★★½
Genre: Children’s/Graphic Novel/Supernatural
Release Date: April 2007
Source: ComiXology – Borrowed
On My Shelf: No

upsidedown.jpg

I don’t really have much to say about this book. It was strange, and I mostly didn’t really know what was going on, but it was kinda fun to read. 

The plot of this one was strange, although I can see why the author would think it was a fun, interesting story. I myself could see a glimmer of that. Still, I found that I wasn’t reading this to find out what was going to happen, I was reading to finish it. I also thought that there were 2 different stories trying to be 1 story in this book, adn I didn’t think the 2 plots worked well together. It was part of the reason I found this book, more often than not, confusing.

The characters were developed and interesting, but I still didn’t find myself connecting with them. I’d chuckle occasionally at something said or one of the drawings, but this was nothing that wowed me.

The art was the strangest of everything. I’m not entirely sure what to think of it, but I didn’t really like it. The drawing style just didn’t work for me. I liked that it was simplistic and different, but it was often distracting from the story and, quite frankly, a bit ridiclous. It wasn’t the worst I’ve seen, but it wasn’t really even close to the best.

Overall, this was a cute read, especially for children, who I think would enjoy it far more than I did, but I wouldn’t recommend it.

THE END

IMG_6035.JPG

 Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Upside Down: A Vampire Tale by Jess Smart Smiley

Leave a Reply

