Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Synopsis

Jenny Lawson has about every mental disorder you can think off, and, in this memoir written through essays, she talks in depth about them and her experiences living with them. This is a moving memoir that is funny, touching, and at times quite sad. Lawson uses humor to talk about issues and experiences that can often be hard to talk about otherwise, let alone live with. This is a funny book about horrible things, and, if anyone could pull that off, Lawson has sure done it here.

Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things by Jenny Lawson

★★★★
Genre: Nonfiction/Memoir
Release Date: September 2015
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

furiouslyhappy.jpg

I loved everything about this memoirI’m actually quite the sucker for a good memoir. As a writer, myself, I really enjoy reading about other people’s experiences. It’s so interesting to get a personal look into how others live and what their thoughts are. Memoirs are so personal, and I honestly think that anyone who writes one, writes their experiences down in such detail, is incredibly brave. You never know who’s going to be able to relate and who it’s going to help––on top of helping yourself.

Lawson’s words seem to flow freely on the page, as if she were born to be a storyteller. There’s something unique about her writing that I love. She has this way of telling each story that keeps you interested and engaged even while Lawson is sometimes jumping all around to tell each story. Even though most of the essay are told non-linearly, Lawson tells them in a way that the stories come together in the end to culminate the theme of each essay.

Lawson is hilarious and had me laughing out loud so often, but she also seems to use humor as a defense to talk about herself. I’m not criticizing her in any way. It actually made the book more relatable for me. I didn’t know how horrible things could be funny, but Lawson does such an amazing job by making light of her conditions. She doesn’t hide from the truth, but instead tells it in a matter-of-fact, this is how things are, and this is how I cope style.

Overall, I thought this was a wonderful book and definitely recommend this book to everyoneI will totally be checking out her other work. I need to get my hands on her other book, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, right now.

Book Depository – $7.21

THE END

IMG_4798.JPG

 Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

5 thoughts on “Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

  1. Wonderful review! I love a good memoir myself, and this one has caught my eye several times. I’ve heard so many good things about it… not sure why I haven’t read it yet. But you’re review was great!! And makes me wanna read it even more! You’ve motivated me. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

