Star Wars Vol. 1: Skywalker Strikes and Vol. 2: Showdown on the Smuggler’s Moon by Jason Aaron, John Cassady, Laura Martin, Stuart Immomen, and Simone Bianchi

Synopsis

The gang is back and having adventures in our favorite galaxy that’s far, far away. This comic series brings back all the favorite characters from the original Star Wars trilogy. Taking place after the Death Star is destroyed, Leia and Han embark on a mission and find themselves in deep trouble when they notice they’re being tailed by the empire. Things get even worse when they find out they’re also being tailed by Han’s wife. Luke, however, is on an entirely different journey, in which we get to see the steps he took and the choices that are, ultimately, (I assume) going to lead him to Dagobah where he’ll find Yoda and start his Jedi training.

Together, Volumes combine Issues #1-12.

Star Wars, Vol. 1: Skywalker Strikes by Jason Aaron, John Cassady, and Laura Martin

★★★★
Genre: Marvel Comics/Star Wars/Science Fiction
Release Date: October 2015
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

starwarsvol1skywalkerstrikes.jpg

Ahhh! I loved this comic. I had been meaning to read this since it came out, but money always seems to be a thing. So, when I saw the first 2 volumes at the Library, I snatched them right up.

I was honestly not expecting to love this series as much as I ended up to. I was absolutely hooked from page 1. This story is awesome! I also love that this is canon. It was so much fun getting more adventures that involved all our favorite characters.

My favorite part of this volume was getting to see more of Han and Leia’s relationship. this story encompassed everything I loved about their on-screen relationship and brings all those elements into this comic series. I’m also enjoying getting to know more about Han’s background/history. It’s all so exciting, funny, and well-written.

There were other things, of course, going on in this plot, and I can honestly say I loved everything. There was action, adventure, comedic relief as well as such great character depth, development, and dimension. 

This comic was just perfect, all right?

Everything up to and including the art was spot on. Cassady and Martin are talented people, and it showed in this comic. Everything that the art did for the story was beautiful and made my reading experience so much more enjoyable. The coloring was just as magnificent, enhancing the art even more. Reading this felt very much like watching another movie installment in the series.

I highly recommend this to all Star Wars fans and especially to those who also enjoy reading comic books and graphic novels. This is an awesome adventure and great addition to the Star Wars universe.

Book Depository – $13.51

Star Wars, Vol. 2: Showdown on the Smuggler’s Moon by Jason Aaron, Stuart Immomen, and Simone Bianchi

★★★★
Genre: Marvel Comics/Star Wars/Science Fiction
Release Date: January 2016
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

starwarsvol2showdownonthesmugglersmoon.jpg

I don’t have a whole lot to say about this second installment. I enjoyed it just as much as the first! I binged these volumes together, so it’s hard to separate exactly where one started and the other ended, which speaks to the good flow of the plot from one issue to the next. I have to say, if you are going to read these comics, it’s best to read them in sequence as part of a series versus here and there or now and then.

The only thing I didn’t like as much about this volume was that the plot line focussed more on Luke than anyone else, which is totally fine; he’s just not my favorite character. It is really interesting to see more of the journey that lead him to Dagobah, but Luke is such a drama queen. Half of the situations he got himself into could have easily been avoided if he were to have simply employed some thought to any of the scenarios: however, if his character would have made other choices, he wouldn’t have been the Luke we know from the movies.

So, it all made sense and made for a good story. I just wanted a little less of Luke and a lot more of Leia and Han. Their plot really thickened in this volume, and it’s wonderful. I absolutely love it and need volume 3 asap!

I definitely recommend picking this up if you liked the first one. This is a great series, and I can’t wait to read more of what’s happening in this far away galaxy.

Book Depository – $13.58

THE END

IMG_4819.JPG

 Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Star Wars Vol. 1: Skywalker Strikes and Vol. 2: Showdown on the Smuggler’s Moon by Jason Aaron, John Cassady, Laura Martin, Stuart Immomen, and Simone Bianchi

Leave a Reply

