Naoki Urasawa’s Monster, Volumes 1-4

Synopsis

Dr. Tenma is from Japan but is working as a brain surgeon in Germany. He’s all set up for a promotion and to marry the head chairman of the hospital’s daughter. That is, everything seems to be going well until he decides to save the life of a young child instead of the right elite politician he’s supposed to be saving. Tenma’s career is already on a downhill spiral after disobeying orders and going against the underlying unfair politics of the hospital, but the consequences become far worse when Tenma realizes he’s created a (dun dun dun) Monster!

Monster, Volume 1: Herr Dr. Tenma by Naoki Urasawa

★★★★
Genre: Mystery/Crime/Suspense
Release Date: December 1994
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

monstervolume1herrdrtenma.jpg

I’m unable to contain my freak outs to start out this review…;A FKK;ASDJ FJKKA;F J

These books are so good! The synopsis basically covers like the first 20 pages of this book and then things just get crazy. This series was recommended to me by Carolyn @ahundredthousandstories (definitely check out her page!), and I’m so glad she suggested it. I may never have come across this series otherwise. Written back in the ’90s, this is a story that has not dated itself and still feels incredibly relevant–like it could be happening right now.

I have to say that the first book, however, didn’t wow me, but it still earned a solid (and easy) 4-star rating from me.

This story dives right in to an intense and gripping plot. From the very first page, I was hooked. I loved the way Urasawa developed the characters and plot. She kind of threw everything at the read at once, but then developed everything and everyone in a way that differentiated the characters and made the plot informative yet crazy and insane in the best way all at the same time. There is never a dull moment.

Overall, I really, really liked this start to a new series and am absolutely hooked! I recommend this to manga readers who like a good crime story with supernatural elements. I also recommend this to anyone looking to get into manga or test the waters and see how they like it. I’ve been trying to get back into manga myself, and I have to say this was a pretty good start.

Monster, Volume 2: Surprise Party by Naoki Urasawa

★★★★
Genre: Mystery/Crime/Suspense
Release Date: September 1995
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

monstervolume2surpriseparty.jpg

Holy wow did this story really take off. I thought the first book was insane, but this story tripled in crazy. This volume jumps abruptly ahead 9 years. At first I didn’t know how I felt about that (although I’ve noticed that in manga drastic time jumps seem to happen nonchalantly), but the story immediately took off and had me hooked even more than the first one (if that’s possible).I thought the first cliffhanger had killed me, but it was nothing compared to the end of this second installment.

What I enjoyed most about this story was the introduction and development of a strong female character. Her character is so incredibly well-written, and she’s so much fun to root for! Honestly, I loved the way this story continued, and I love the direction the plot took.

Be wary, there seems to be murders around every corning in this one. IT’s on of those agonizing yet wonderful books that you have to watch who you invest your heart into. Will everyone be safe? Probably the main characters are safe, but you never really can be sure.

This is an excellent sequel that left me itching for more.

Monster, Volume 3: 511 Kinderheim by Naoki Urasawa

★★★★
Genre: Mystery/Crime/Suspense
Release Date: March 1996
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

monstervolume3511kinderheim.jpg

;lkaj f;;lkasj flk;as f

How do I even keep writing reviews for these volumes when I just want to freak out. This novel introduced another new character–a small boy who ends up on Tenma’s journey with him. I loved the development this new character offered Tenma as well as the development the new face offered the plot. This story honestly just keeps getting thicker and more layered and even more suspenseful.

There are things happening around every page turn. I can’t get enough of this story. Urasawa does an awesome job of making the reader want more, more, more. The other thing that made this volume super interesting is that we get even more information on the main villain’s backstory. We get a lot in volume 2 too. Urasawa knows exactly how to release information to keep the audience hooked and on the edge of their seats.

If you aren’t reading this series by now, WHY NOT??

Monster, Volume 4: Ayse’s Friend by Naoki Urasawa

★★★★
Genre: Mystery/Crime/Suspense
Release Date: August 1996
Source: Library – Borrowed
On My Shelf: I Wish

monstervolume4aysesfriends.jpg

What is there even left to say about this series??? 

This volume was a little more slow-moving for me, and I wasn’t sure if I liked the new character at first. But, after a while, he totally grew on me. Although I thought this volume could have used a bit more action, I still liked the plot and enjoyed that we got a little bit of a side plot in this one. It was interesting to see how the main plot affects more than just the few main characters we get to read about.

What else I loved was seeing even more of Tenma’s character development. It’s interesting to see just how broken he’s become, and his journey isn’t even over yet.

Also, before I wrap up all these mini-reviews, I can’t believe I haven’t said anything about the artwork yet! I’ve been so focussed on how awesome this plot and writing is that I haven’t even had time to breath and change the subject. Urasawa’s art is beautiful. I love the detail, how everything is drawn, and how it adds so much to the story.

Overall, this series is incredible, and I need to get Volume 5 yesterday. Read this story. DO IT. Do it; do it; do it!

THE END

Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 2.22.30 PM.png

 Other Links to reach me at:

 Instagram | booklr | Goodreads | Twitter | Etsy
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Naoki Urasawa’s Monster, Volumes 1-4

Leave a Reply

