Princess Leia by Mark Waid and Terry Dodson

Synopsis

The Rebel Alliance has defeated the Death Star, but there is still much work to be done. In this comic that takes place directly after A New Hope ends, Princess Leia hijacks a fighter jet with Evaan, a well-respected pilot, to set of in search of any surviving Alderaanians. However, Evaan is not so on board with the mission at first. In fact, she does everything she can to persuade and even turn back Leia’s mission after takeoff. Will Leia find what she’s looking for? Will she save anyone? Will Evaan hate her forever?

Princess Leia by Mark Waid and Terry Dodson

★★★★
Genre: Disney Comics/Star Wars/Canon
Release Date: November 2015
Source: Half Price Books – Bought
On My Shelf: No

princessleia.jpg

Goodreads

This was a great story! I loved it.

What makes this story super interesting is that we get some awesome Canon literature that also gives us background on Princess Leia. On top of getting an awesome new story that features this totally rad female character, we also get some flashbacks into her past and the occurrences that make her the strong female character we see on screen. Both, Leia’s path and her current storyline in this comic series are so fun to learn about and read.

This story is fast-paced and action-packed. There’s no going wrong picking up a copy of this and thrusting yourself into a new Star Wars adventure. What I also love about this plot is that it’s female-driven. Leia and Evaan are well on their way to a new friendship and it’s beautiful. This is the ultimate woman-supporting-women element that we need more of! I adored these characters and they both had excellent development. I just really loved learning more about such an important Star Wars character that I’ve loved for so long. I’m in love with Leia and Evaan, and I need more of their friendship like asap.

The reason I rated it down a star was because I felt like mission of the plot could have been a little stronger and more developedAlthough I did completely enjoy this aspect of the storyline, I felt like there was almost too much going on. We get glimpses form Leia’s past, we have the blooming friendship, and there’s also the fact that a war is still going on, so I felt that the Alderaan Survivor plot was rushed. I wish this comic would have been part of a longer series, even just a 2-volume one would have allowed for more development and more, I think, enjoyment from the reader. That being said, you can’t go wrong picking up this story.

Just one final thing to say from me. The artwork. For me, I didn’t know if I liked it at first, but by the time I was through the first 10 pages, it had grown on me and I was loving it. I really enjoyed Dodson’s work is quite beautiful in its own way. I like the simplicity of it, but also the way it’s able to evoke an emotional response. It’s pleasing to the eyes and does a good job of enhancing the story. He gets 2 thumps up from me.

Overall, I definitely recommend this story to Star Wars fans. It’s a wonderful read that I highly enjoyed.

Book Depository – $11.50

THE END

That’s it for me for the week. Have a good weekend everyone! ❤

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Princess Leia by Mark Waid and Terry Dodson

Leave a Reply

