Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Dexter Soy, Emma Ríos, Richard Elson, Karl Kesel, and Al Barrionuevo

Synopsis

A strange adventure of time travel and action. Carol Danvers, trained pilot, Avenger, and now Captain Marvel, is flying off into the past both literally and mentally. There’s something that she can’t quite forget that causes her to fly a plane to the past in order to save the future. But, if she’s not careful, everything could be altered. Will she succeed? Will she find what she’s looking for? Why is the past all too familiar to her?

Collects Issues #1-6

Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Dexter Soy, Emma Ríos, Richard Elson, Karl Kesel, and Al Barrionuevo

★★★★
Genre: Marvel Comics/Superhero
Release Date: January 2013
Source: Library – Borrowed

captainmarvelvol1.jpg

This was a good story, but not something that wowed me.

I’m very happy to see Carol Danvers as a strong, female, Avenger who is around middle age. Her story was incredibly interesting because she has lived so much and had so many experiences that help her and influence her on her mission in this story.

Overall, did enjoy the plot and found it gripping enough. Although, it was at times hard to follow. I enjoyed the flashbacks paired with what was happening in real-time, or past real-time, actually. Even though this made for an interesting story that kept me wanting more, it also had me furrowing my brows occasionally trying to figure out what was going on. I could definitely have used something a bit more coherent at times, but that didn’t take too much away from the enjoyable plot.

I also could have used more character development. Don’t get me wrong, Carol Danvers is awesome–totally rad. But, she needed a little something more. Now that I’m writing this I’m finding that I can’t remember a whole lot about her.

I did really enjoy the art in this comic and actually didn’t realize while reading that so many people had worked on it. Each issue flowed smoothly into the next, and I did enjoy looking at each panel for the colors and the details.

Still, there was just a little something missing. Upon writing this review, I noticed that the writer is actually also the author of Bitch Planet, and I’m not surprised to learn that. I had many of the same complaints about that story that I did with this one. (But that’s a review for another day.)

Overall, this was a fun, entertaining story, but it’s not one that has really stuck with me. Does that mean that I won’t read volume 2? No, not at all. I’m going to pick it up as soon as the opportunity presents itself. I recommend this if you’re a Marvel fan, this is damn near a must-read.

Book Depository – $10.82

THE END

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Captain Marvel, Vol. 1: In Pursuit of Flight by Kelly Sue DeConnick, Dexter Soy, Emma Ríos, Richard Elson, Karl Kesel, and Al Barrionuevo

Leave a Reply

