Shutter, Vol. 1: Wanderlost by Joe Keatinge, Leila del Duca, and Owen Giene

Synopsis

Kate is one of the best adventurer’s on the planet, or perhaps in the galaxy, but she has retired that life for a more quiet one as a photographer. She lives in the big city and works to support herself. After her father died, she took up her own life path, but what did he fail to tell her when he was alive? Or, did he ever really die? Could he be out there alive somewhere? Now that his old secrets are coming back to haunt her…and hunt her, what will Kate find out about her past? Did she even know her father at all?

Shutter, Vol. 1: Wanderlost by Joe Keatinge, Leila del Duca, and Owen Giene

★★★★
Genre: Comic Series/Fantasy
Release Date: November 2014
Source: ComiXology – Borrowed

shuttervol1.jpg

I loved this comic volume! It’s packed with action, adventure, and super lovable (and totally hateable) main characters.

I’d seen this volume at the Library a lot, but failed to pick it up each time despite this crazy feeling I had that I knew I would like it. Then, I found volume 1 on comixology.com and finally decided to dive in, not knowing anything about what to expect.

I had no idea this was going to be an awesome, (more-than-not) high-fantasy adventure with magnificent characters. But, it was, and I’m so glad I decided to read this.

Let’s get the complaints out right off the bat. I don’t really like the title of this comic. The MC’s career is mentioned fleetingly and then never again. I’m still holding out hope that the title will come into play later on in the story, but I’m unsure at this point, so I’m left a little wanting on that aspect.

The plot is really slow.  I’m not hugely opposed to a slow burn plot, but there was a little left to be desired. This story revealed too much and too little. The writer seems to be creating too many questions and not enough answers.

That all being said, I still loved nearly everything about this. The plot is super interesting and definitely sucks you in. There’s so much going on and new surprises were around nearly every page turn. Warning: There is quite a bit of graphic violence in this. I really enjoyed all the fight scenes and everything that happened. (That sounds strange to say about gory scenes, but, hey, it was part of the plot and it was well-executed, so what else am I supposed to say?)

So, if you haven’t guessed already, I adored the artwork. I liked the vibrant style and enjoyed the details. There was so much to see on every page, and I found myself reading slower than I typically do to appreciate everything about the stills. I wanted to fall into the world that these artists had created, but they made it leap off the page, so it was close to the same thing.

The last thing to talk about seems to be character development and depth: It was incredibly well-executed. Even if the plot is a bit slow, the character development isn’t. I found Kate to be believable, and I understood all her choices. She’s definitely got plenty of dimension and keeps the reader guessing what she’s going to do next. The other characters were realistic (even if they physically weren’t), and I loved all of them, even the baddies. They were all so well-developed and well-drawn. I just…ughhhhh…I love them. I love this. I love it all.

I recommend this to comic readers looking for a new fantasy read, but really I recommend it to anyone looking for a new and good fantasy read. This was so much fun, and I can’t wait to continue with the story in volume 2!

Book Depository – $8.05

THE END

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Shutter, Vol. 1: Wanderlost by Joe Keatinge, Leila del Duca, and Owen Giene

Leave a Reply

