Double Feature – Spoiler Free

I’m deviating a bit from books for this post to talk about 2 movies I recently saw. But, they’re based on books, so I figured you all wouldn’t mind too much?

Within the last 2 weeks I have seen 2 awesome movies. I don’t get out to the theater often, but these trips were definitely worth it. So, here are 2 mini spoiler-free reviews.

Doctor Strange

doctorstrange.jpeg

This movie blew my mind.

I was not expecting to like this as much as I did. My standards for Marvel movies are pretty low, in all honesty. I usually know exactly what to expect. Lots of men and a few women save the world from some threat with great graphics and a decent storyline. That’s been the formula for the past 5-ish years.

But, this movie is something completely new.

I haven’t read any Doctor Strange comics or seen much of it before, so I went into this film with a fresh and open mind.

loved the plot of this movie. It was intense, and I’m just a sucker for multi-dimensional theories and explorations. And, the awesome graphic effects this plot line called for were absolutely 100% delivered. The special effects were mind-blowingly incredible.

I also loved the acting. This casting was, like the story, spot on. I loved seeing Marvel reaching out for at least a bit more of a diverse cast than I’m used to from them, and I, of course, loved all the strong females.

There was also a ton of great humor. Oh my goodness, I actually LOLed in the theater more than once.

The only thing I thought they should have done differently was let Benedict Cumberbatch talk normally. His American accent left a bit to be desired. Don’t get me wrong, I love Cumberbatch and his work and his acting in this film was excellent, but I don’t think him speaking in his British accent would have detracted anything from the movie.

Overall, this movie was hilarious, intense, heartbreaking, amazing, and mind-bogglingly brilliant, and I definitely, absolutely, 200% recommend that you see it (in theaters if you get the chance)!

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

fantasticbeasts.jpg

You didn’t seriously think I wold let this one slip out of theaters before seeing it, did you? I’ve been itching to see it since opening weekend, but things were busy, so I just saw it last night. And I loved, loved, loved it!

I was actually one of those skeptics, especially once I heard this was going to be a 5-movie series, that was incredibly leary about the new series. At first I thought 5 movies was absolutely too much (too indulgent), but now I’m just over here like 5 MOVIES IS DEFINITELY NOT ENOUGH

Like everyone else, I fell completely in love with Newt. Ohmigod he is like adorable to the max. I love him. And Niffler! The niffler is too adorable. I can’t handle the cuteness!

And that’s only 2 of the characters. They’re all just as magnificent.

The story is magical. I loved the setting. I loved the plot. I loved the execution. And, I loved the special effects.

Holy cow, between Doctor Strange and this movie, I don’t know what is real anymore.

This movie did such a miraculous job of bringing the wizarding world to life once again. I’m honestly speechless.

Between the LOL moments, the parallels to the original Harry Potter series (don’t worry fellow Potterheads, there are bounteous amounts of them!), the adorableness, the amazing cast and crew, and the story, this movie is a must see (especially if you can catch it in theaters)!

1-bajillion-% recommended!

THE END

Up Next: Review of Shutter

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Double Feature – Spoiler Free

Leave a Reply

