Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations With Your Favorite Literary Characters by Mallory Ortberg

5/5 Stars
Genre: Humor
Release Date: November 2014
Source: Library – Borrowed

Ever wonder how your favorite literary characters would acclimate to current culture and technology? Well, Mallory Ortberg does a pretty fabulous job of taking a gander. This book is filled with our favorite classic literary characters fitting in to today’s society, specifically through text messages. That’s what this is, exactly what the title says–a book of text messages as tailored to fit the personalities of beloved characters and authors.

textsfromjaneeyre.jpg

Goodreads

;akdjf ;;lakj f;kjaf 

This. Book. Is. Freaking. Hilarious.

I’m simultaneously so happy that I came across this book at the Library and so sad that I don’t own my own copy of this beautiful piece of art.

Yes, that’s how good this book was.
I’m not exaggerating. I’m not being dramatic. I am freaking out.

There were so many entries in this book that had me laughing so hard I was crying. Ortberg is hilarious! She does an exceptionally well job of capturing all the classic characters and authors and their personalities. If you are wondering how “refined” and “dignified” these people would act in current society, this is a book you should definitely pick up.

I just can’t express enough how funny and accurate this book is. I can’t even decide which text bunch is my favorite because they’re all my favorite. There’s no way I could possibly choose. Although…I do really like the Emily Dickinson texts.

textsfromjaneeyrestill

One thing I will say is that if you’re going to read this, I recommend being familiar with the mainstream classic characters and authors. Although I think this book is completely enjoyable if you don’t know much about them, I found that the story and author segments I was familiar with were far funnier than ones I didn’t recognize. Because Ortberg uses the person’s personality to employ humor, it’s more enjoyable if you know a bit about said person before delving in.

I will warn you that I was an English major in college and have studied and also read for enjoyment a great deal of classic literature, so that may be why I loved this book so much. 

But, even so, I still think this book is completely enjoyable for anyone looking for a hearty laugh and a new experience. The medium is fresh and totally interesting. I love the idea of reading text messages form famous people and characters. It was interesting and just, just…so…wonderful.

 I’m so so so so glad I stumbled across this book at the Library. Eventually, I will purchase my own copy so I can pick up this book every time I need a good laugh, because that’s exactly what this read is.

Book Depository – $6.79

THE END

Up Tomorrow: Unboxing of Something or Another

Submit

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!
Submissions are Open!
Submit work to HainAL17@uww.edu
For Full Details Click Here.

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations With Your Favorite Literary Characters by Mallory Ortberg

Leave a Reply

