Bob’s Burgers: Volume 1 by Chad Brewster, Jeff Drake, Justin Hook, Rachel Hastings, and Mike Olsen

5/5 Stars
Genre: TV Show Based
Release Date: July, 2012
Source: ComiXology – Borrowed

The gang’s all here and the personalities we know and love come to life in this new comic series. This new series was worked on by the producers, writers, and animators of the show, so everything included is true to character and canon. For each issue included, every character is given their own mini-story. Louise is up to no good, Gene’s sections are written as musicals, and Linda writes letters after a bit too much wine. These pages are bursting with fun and snark that anyone who adores the show will love.

Screen Shot 2016-09-28 at 5.31.12 PM.png

Goodreads

This was such a fun read! Since this was concocted by the creators of the show, the personalities and artwork stays very true to the show.

Now, I will say, this is probably more around a 4-star rating story-wise, but I love Bob’s Burgers, and because this was such a quick, fun read with lovely artwork, I rated up.

I had a great time reading each installment, and I liked that each character received their own story to showcase their quirks. Louise is my favorite character, so of course her sections were my favorites, but I honestly really liked everyone else’s as well.

One complaint that I do have is that I wasn’t a huge fan of Linda’s sections. The letter format did a good job of showing her quirks, but sometimes the jokes felt a little forced. And, I love Linda, so I’m kind of sad she didn’t get a bigger section to show off what we all like about her!

Overall, the stories all flowed nicely and had good arcs. Since these characters are already television famous, the writers skip the character development and dive right into the story. If you’re not too familiar with the show, definitely watch a few episodes first to get the hang of the storytelling and everyone’s personalities.

The artwork was lovely, and I loved the coloring. Everything about it completely encompassed the show.

Reading this book isn’t exactly like watching the show, but I liked that about it. I love the show, of course, but I liked that this was different from the show. Still, even though it was different, it evoked many of the same emotions the show does–acceptance of our oddities, a strong family bond, and, most of all, laughter. I laughed so much throughout these pages! There were some wonderful jokes and all the same ridiculous scenarios and antics our characters always seem to get themselves into.

I definitely recommend checking out this comic if you’re a fan of Bob’s BurgersYou won’t be disappointed.

Book Depository – $15.29

THE END

Up Tomorrow: Critic Analysis

(Not sure if I’m actually going to do that, but I might try. I miss writing my thoughts down in a formal paper like when I was in college.)

Submit

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!
Submissions are Open!
For Full Details Click Here.

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Bob’s Burgers: Volume 1 by Chad Brewster, Jeff Drake, Justin Hook, Rachel Hastings, and Mike Olsen

Leave a Reply

