The New 52! Suicide Squad Volumes 1 and 2

Today I’m combining two reviews, so each volume will get a little mini review. Those of you who have been following me awhile know how this goes. If you’re new here, First of all, welcome! Second, this is something you’ll be seeing occasionally.

How it works is I write 2 individual reviews that will, combined, equal roughly one of my regular reviews.

Suicide Squad, Volume 1: Kicked in the Teeth

by Adam Glass, Federico Dallocchio, Cliff Richards, Clayton Henry, and Ig Guara

3.5/5 Stars
Genre: Comic Book/Villains
Release Date: July, 2012
Source: Library – Borrowed

The Suicide Squad has been formed. Of course, don’t tell that to the general public. We don’t want them to know that criminals are the ones that are stopping horrible things from happening instead of the superheroes or any of the other good guys. They’ve been sent out on their first mission. Will they all survive? What do such hardened criminals already rotting in jail have to lose? What do they have to gain?

suicidesquadvol1kickedintheteeth

Goodreads

Overall, this was a pretty decent read. I didn’t have high expectations going into this, since I’ve read such mixed reviews about the series. Not expecting much from this meant I wasn’t disappointed by the few things that irked me.

Don’t get me wrong. I did like this; I just didn’t love this.

What I didn’t like.

The first thing that bothered me about this series was how quickly characters were killed offI get it. They’re villains, and mostly unknown villains, so they’re disposable. Still, I found it hard to keep track of everyone because characters were dying so quickly. What really irked me about this, though, was that they were given character development. So, it was only after we were given who they were, what their power was, and what some of their background was that they were killed. Why give me information vital to the character and story when you are just going to confuse me by killing the character right away? I didn’t like that.

The storyline was on the weaker side. There was too much going on and there was too much action. Once again, I get that this is a high-intensity story about villains doing work they don’t want to be doing, but, we are given a lot of action and not a lot of storyI wanted to know more about the Suicide Squad and not just see them kill bad guys as well as each other.

The artwork was geared directly toward the male gaze. Even though I loved all of the female characters (what few there were–I’m surprised, usually DC is good for equality), every. single. one. had HUGE boobs popping out their clothes. Like, I’m sorry, but that’s just exhausting.

What I liked.

The story was fun. Even though it didn’t have a lot of back story buildup, it was really fun to read. I enjoyed the journey and liked the concept of the mission–especially the that it was zombie-centric! Like, that was cool. Very cool. This comic book was straight up cool. I read it quickly wanting to find out what was going to happen next.

The characters. The ones that weren’t killed off for no reason really grew on me. I liked them. They’re horrible and only looking out for themselves and would kill you in a heartbeat, but I liked them.

The writing was good. The dialogue was good. The story was fun.

The artwork was also great. Besides there being too many bulging boobs for my taste, I did really enjoy the artwork. It was crisp, gory, and entertaining to look at. Plus, the coloring was gorgeous. I love how vibrant it all is. The artwork did a good job of bringing the story to life.

The ending. Wow that ending was intensely awesome! I loved it so much. It was gripping, and interesting, and left me wanting more. Even though it created yet another storyline, I liked where it was heading.

Overall, do I recommend? Yes. If you like villains, especially DC villains, this is a great read. Don’t expect it to be perfect, but expect it to be fun.

Book Depository – $11.63

Suicide Squad, Volume 2: Basilisk Rising

by Adam Glass and Fernando Dagnino

3.5/5 Stars
Genre: Comic Book/Villains
Release Date: February, 2013
Source: Library – Borrowed

The Suicide Squad is back in the field after barely recovering from their last mission. Their boss, Amanda Waller, has forced them back into action too quickly for their liking. This time, though, we’ll learn what has been hinted at from the start: Someone on the Squad is a traitor–working for Basilisk. Will the team be able to stop Basilisk from rising? Who will survive?

suicidesquadvol2basiliskrising

Goodreads

What I didn’t like.

The ending of the last comic was left unresolved. This is very irritating, honestly. Like, why have that ending if you’re not even going to elaborate on that started storyline even a little bit? I wanted more of it, and didn’t get any. Maybe in the next volume?

The storyline stayed very static. The second volume was basically the first volume with a different topic. We still are given too little information for what’s going on. I know that vagueness is important for a story to move forward with tension, but there was too much vagueness in this volume. I need to know more because right now I’m just very confused.

Basilisk looks like Loki on steroids.

Basilisk is basically Hydra.

Boobs are still unnecessarily large and impractically uncovered. 

What I liked.

The story was, once again, fun to read. I did enjoy what was happening, even if it felt a bit unoriginal. I found what was happening interesting, even if some of it was hard to follow.

I enjoyed the background on Amanda Waller and how Suicide Squad came about. So, at least there were some answers found in this comic. Even if they weren’t the particular answers I’ve been after, they were still interesting, none the less, and did a good job of moving the comic forward.

The characters stayed about the same. They were, like the plot, pretty stagnant, but they were appealing. I was, once again, hoping for them to succeed despite them all being terrible human beings (or terrible sharks, I guess). I liked the development of WallerThis comic made her more real and not just a voice running an operation.

The artwork was, once again, pretty and vibrantly colorful.

The verdict? I do recommend this one if you’ve found yourself invested in the series. It’s fun. It’s interesting. It’s gory. But, like the first, don’t get your hopes too high.

Book Depository – $13.95

I’m planning to continue with this series with hopes that the story will get better. If it stays stagnant, I’m not sure how much longer I’ll be continuing. For now, I’ll be on the lookout for the next volume.

THE END

Up Tomorrow: Bad Synopses

Submit

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!
Submissions are Open!
For Full Details Click Here.

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “The New 52! Suicide Squad Volumes 1 and 2

Leave a Reply

