Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

4/5 Stars
Genre: Comic Book/Mystery/Crime
Release Date: April, 2014
Source: ComiXology – Borrowed

Suzie’s just like everyone else…well…that is, she is except her one quirk: Time stops after she has sex. For most of her life she believes there is no one else like her. Then, she meets Jon and finds out that she’s not the only one with such a unique gift. Their relationship takes off hot and heavy, and it doesn’t take long for it to get even more intense. But, will committing petty crime be enough? Will they get away with robbing a bank? Who’s going to stop them when time is frozen?

Screen Shot 2016-09-19 at 9.44.07 PM.png

Goodreads

This was a very interesting read. I’m going to warn you right away that there is a lot of sex in this book. I mean, I know, I know, it’s right in the title, but I just want to make sure that you know what you’re signing up for with this graphic novel. If this kind of thing doesn’t bother you, continue. If this already doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, it probably won’t be.

So, if it does sound like something you’ll like, trust me, you will. This story is fun and filled with twists and turns that I couldn’t see coming. There was all kinds of stuff going on in this story, and I loved every moment of it.

This story is honestly so fresh. I can honestly say I’ve never read anything like this before. The story progresses in a wonderful and intense way and ends on a cliffhanger that had me itching to get my hands on the next volume.

The characters are also very intense and new. Suzie and Jon are honestly pretty unlikable, but in a totally lovable way. I found myself rooting for them even though their choices and actions were positively deplorableEach one has plenty of depth that unfolds within the pace of the story, making everything come together nicely.

The last piece of the puzzle, the artwork, finishes off the total picture nicely. The art is so stunning. The coloring is beautiful. Everything about it is perfect. I loved, loved, loved the art. Like, I cannot praise it enough.

I loved so much about this story, but I couldn’t quite give it 5 stars. There were just a few noticeable inconsistencies in the story that I was unable to ignore. Also, some of the phrasing was a bit strange or hard to understand.

That being said, I highly recommend this story for anyone looking for something completely new and unlike anything you’ve read before. This is a great one. I’m so eager to see where the comics go from here.

Book Depository – $8.67

THE END

Up Tomorrow: Original Tag

Submit

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!
Submissions are Open!
For Full Details Click Here.

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky

Leave a Reply

