Learning to Swim by Annie Cosby

4/5 Stars
Genre: YA Paranormal Romance
Release Date: March, 2014
Source: Author – Free Review Copy

Cora is dragged along by her parents to a summer of big houses and rich parties so the family can do some healing, but Cora doesn’t think big houses and parties are a way to solve their problems. Will Cora come around and finally accept her future as a college student at the fancy school her parents picked for her, or will she be smitten by the locals and opt for the life of travel she’s been dying to pursue. Will the batty old Mrs. O’Leary help guide her life in the direction it should take, or is she just a crazy woman spinning crazy tales about Irish folklore and selkies? And, what’s up with the local boy with the beautiful brown eyes, Rory? How are him and Mrs. O’Leary connected?

Screen Shot 2016-08-30 at 11.55.37 AM.png

Goodreads

I was provided with a free copy of this book for an honest review.

This story grabbed me from the start, yet, at the same time, it took me a little while to get into. I think it’s because I had to read this on my computer, and I’m not a huge fan of reading books on a computer screen. Still, once I got to 48%, I went on a binge and stayed up to finish the book until the early morning.

Where should I start with it then? I guess I’ll start with Cora. I really liked her character. I did find her to be a bit whiney and constantly woe-is-me at times, but I honestly thought that worked. She’s a young adult trying to figure out what she wants to do with her life and is in a constant battle with her parents over it. Her angst made sense. Plus, I loved her humor. This book caused me to laugh out loud a few times. 

She was definitely the character I thought that had the development. I could have a used a bit more on everyone else, except Mrs. O’Leary. She was tackled pretty well too. One of my favorite aspects was that there was no real distinction between the rich and locals in Cora’s speech. I liked that, even though Cora recognized the difference, being one of the other didn’t make anyone automatically a bad person. Cosby did a good job of portraying the idea that people are people and it’s their words and actions that make them unpleasant and not the amount of money in their pockets.

This book also made me cringe a few times…in a good way! There was a lot of tension in this story, and I found myself eager to find out what was going to happen next. And, there was tons of horribly uncomfortable tension between Cora and Rory that I was loving it. Those two were definitely giving me some feels.

I also loved the premise. I wanted a little bit more of the lore and folktales, as I’m pretty unfamiliar with what the legends were. Cosby’s writing was wonderfully descriptive to the point that I could clearly imagine what was going on, but I wanted more background on the legends–mainly because I found it all so fascinating. I’m hoping the second book will touch more on all of that.

And, that cliffhanger made me itching to continue the story. The ending was a little confusing, but mostly just intriguing and open for possibility. Anything could happen at this point.

A couple other things that I haven’t already mentioned, however, kept me from rating this 5 stars. There were a few minor grammatical errors scattered throughout the story. They weren’t that distracting, though and didn’t take anything away from the story. However, there were a few times that the plot didn’t connect, so that’s the main reason for the 4-star rating. These inconsistencies were nothing terribly damaging to the plot and were pretty easy to ignore, but a few bothered me a little more than I can brush under the rug. They were small and could have easily been fixed with another round of proofing.

Regardless of these minor complaints, I did really enjoy this story and am planning on reading the next book in the series as well as checking out Cosby’s other series.

I definitely recommend checking out this book if YA Paranormal Romance is something that interests you. I also recommend it if you’re intrigued by Irish folklore. This book was fun to read, and kept me hooked until the last page. It was never boring and always enjoyable.

Book Depository – $10.66

THE END

Up Tomorrow: Theme Songs

Submit

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!
Submissions are Open!
For Full Details Click Here.

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

2 thoughts on “Learning to Swim by Annie Cosby

Leave a Reply

