Tag – Seasons of Book Blogging

It has been a really long time since I’ve done a tag – too long!

So, today I’m doing the Seasons of Book Blogging one. I was tagged by Ayunda @teaandpaperbacks literally ages ago. Thanks so much for the tag, though! I eventually get around to everything. (And definitely check out Ayunda’s lovely blog.)

Also, thanks to Jordyn @jbookish for creating this tag!

The Rules:

♥ Thank the creator and the person who tagged you.
♥ Begin with the month in which you were tagged and move forward from there!
♥ State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.
♥ Tag whomever you like when you’re finished… or else you’ll be ‘it’ forever
♥ Have fun, of course!

December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

IMG_2639.JPG

This Book Loves You by PewDiePie

I loved this fun little book. It’s filled with tons of great humor that is awesome for readers and nonreaders alike. It’s the perfect gift book!

January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

“I’ve set my reading goal to 85 books this year. It’s higher than last year’s 80, but I’m hoping that I’ll be able to reach it, especially since I had such an easy time last year going above and beyond.”

This is from my 2016 Resolutions post.

I’m happy to say that I’ve raised my goal to 100 books and am currently at 96! So, that resolution is technically already complete.

However, reading back over my goals, I’m happy that I’ve been working towards and will hopefully complete many of them!

This is also my birthday month, but, I have to say, it’s impossible to pick “the best” gift as I’ve been given so many generous gifts over the years. I love basically anything that anyone gives me because I honestly just feel so honored when people think of and remember me with a gift (whether it has monetary value or not.)

February is the month for relationships. Name your favourite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

IMG_2640.JPG

Ron + Hermione

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

Sorry not sorry. I know a lot of people don’t like them, but I really do, and, honestly, I love how their need to be together was portrayed in The Cursed Child. The universe truly would not be right if these two were not happily in a relationship.

March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

IMG_2641.JPG

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Here I am falling right back into my old habits. However, I believe there are lots of new followers, so maybe you all don’t know my I-use-P&P-for-literally-anything quirk yet.

I just love this story so much. I’ve read it 3 times, and I wish I could find out what it feels like to not know the ending for once. Oh well, I’ll still read it again in hopes.

April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 10.23.17 PM.png

Death Note by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

Okay, it’s not that I didn’t like what I read, I just expected more, you know? I thought the story got a little predictable after awhile, and it’s lacking any strong (likable) female characters.

(This picture looks out of place because it’s off my Instagram, so that’s why it’s formatted a little different.)

May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

IMG_2642.JPG

Shutter, Vol. 1: Wanderlost by Joe Keatinge, Leila del Duca, and Owen Gieni

I’d been meaning to check this book out from the Library for ages. However, I subscribe to ComiXology and found it free with my unlimited membership, so I dove in immediately. I had no idea what to expect, knowing literally nothing other than I had a good feeling before starting it and that the cover was intriguing.

And, I loved it!

This story was so much fun, and I can’t wait to read more.

June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

IMG_2644.JPG

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

So, Harry has graced this list twice now, but I’m still not sorry. I pick up Harry Potter every time I’m in a reading slump or just need something to distract me from a busy mind. I’m not saying the series is light or lacking in any way; it’s just that I’ve read it so many times that it’s an easy book for me to check out from the world for a little while with.

July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)

IMG_2645.JPG

Illuminae Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

These are the 2 best books I’ve read all year, hands down. I was definitely seeing fireworks after finishing them (actually, there were quite a bit of fireworks in them as well), and they actually caused me to not be able to sleep. These books are amazing.

August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

IMG_2643.JPG

Learning to Swim by Annie Cosby

Okay, so, she’s already got a few books out, but I hope Annie Cosby will gain some popularity. I’ve been reading this book after the author approached me with a review copy, and ended up finishing it in the wee morning hours last night.

I ended up really liking this story and can’t wait to pick up the second book! Cora and Rory gave me some serious feels.

September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

IMG_2647.JPG

Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

Well, considering that I went on to college to major in Writing and minor in English Literature, there have honestly been a ton of books I’ve read for school that I enjoyed.

I’m choosing Fun Home because I recently found this beautiful hardcover for under $2 at the thrift store. This is a great read and one that I’m really itching to reread, even if I don’t have a classroom full of students to discuss it with.

October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

IMG_2648.JPG

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

I actually wanted to go as a Galaxy Hitchhiker last year, but ended up as the TARDIS after finding the perfect TARDIS costume. So, maybe this year I will go as one. I think it would be such a fun and simple costume! Seriously, I’m doing it and am going to award points to anyone who understands what I’m supposed to be.

November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

IMG_2646.JPG

Naoki Urasawa’s Monster, Volume. 1: Herr Dr. Tenma by Naoki Urusawa

Carolyn @ahundredthousandstories rec’d me this series, and I’m so glad she did–Thank You! I’ve only read the first 2 volumes, but I’m hooked! I can’t wait to get the rest from my Library.

I Tag:

@thesapphire
Heather @bits&books
Amy @novelgossip
Kendra @readsandtreats
Carolyn @ahundredthousandstories
Larkin @wonderfilledreads
Charley @booksandbakes1
The Captain @captainsquarters
Kathy @thenoveltyoflife
Heather @thesassygeek
Shivalika @whimsyjournals
The 20-Something @thereaderinthenight
April @swimmingthroughliterature

Of course, no one is under any obligation to complete this tag.

Also, I’ve been a bit out of touch lately, so I’m not sure who’s still doing tags. No worries if you’re not!

THE END

Up Tomorrow: Book Tag – Special Feature or a Book Review

Submit

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!
Submissions are Open!
Submit work to HainAL17@uww.edu
For Full Details Click Here.

 Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “Tag – Seasons of Book Blogging

    1. You are welcome! And ahhh yes I REALLY liked volume 2. I can’t wait to read more! I can’t believe it gets even more intense :O I’m going to the library tomorrow, so I’ll probably check out a bunch of them if they’re there!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

