DC: The New Frontier, Volume 1 by Darwyn Cooke

1/5 Stars
Genre: Comic Book
Release Date: December, 2004
Source: Library – Borrowed

This is a story about the big-name DC superheroes. However, they’re in a bit of a transition phase. The world is changing and they’re trying to change with it. Will they be able to work together, or will they stay divided?

Screen Shot 2016-08-19 at 2.32.39 PM.png

Goodreads

I can’t say that I was particularly impressed with this comic. In fact, I found it hard to finish.

This is mostly because I found the plot to be excruciatingly boring. This plot was so uneventful I honestly had a hard time even coming up with the small synopsis I wrote. I honestly cannot remember much of what happened in this collection. There was no rising action and nothing near a climax or a story arc. I’m very confused as to what the author and artist were actually going for.

The art, however, was the only thing about this story that I did like. It was retro and that was very cool. So, that part of this comic was wonderful. I loved the original ‘50s feel and the sort of honor it served to the original superheroes we love.

Wow, this review is harder to write than I thought it would be. This storyline really did not stick with me. The only character’s story I can specifically remember is Wonder Woman’s and that’s only because I take specific interest in her character, as she’s a favorite. Still, her story was filled with far too much talking and far too little action.

There was way too much text in this comic. Some of the bubbles took up half the allotted panel! That’s just far too much. Having too much text in a comic book is never good. It slows the story, causes way too much telling instead of an equal balance the medium requires of telling and showing, and makes the reader turn into Little Nemo and head off to Slumberland.

All in all, this was a total snoozefest for me, and I’m not willing to recommend it. It’s not worth the time you’ll waste feeling bad that it’s taking you so long to read a small comic book. (Trust me, I know. I nearly DNFed this multiple times while reading.)

THE END

Have you read this? Thoughts?

I’ll see you all back again on Sunday for my weekly review!
Have a wonderful weekend loves ❤

*ANNOUNCEMENT*

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!

 

Submissions are Open!

For Full Details Click Here.

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “DC: The New Frontier, Volume 1 by Darwyn Cooke

Leave a Reply

