Transformers Classics Omnibus Volume 2 by Bob Budiansky, Herb Trimpe, and Don Perlin

5/5 Stars
Genre: Classic Comic Books
Release Date: January, 2012
Source: Barnes & Noble – Bought

This is going to be a pretty short review today, but I really wanted to make you aware, if you weren’t already, that these omnibuses exist. I’m a huge Transformers fan, so when I came across these monster collections one day at Barnes & Noble, I knew I had to have them!

This is the second book in the collection and was just as fun to read.

The story picks up where the first one left off. Optimus Prime and his gang of Autobots are back and trying to sabotage the Deceptiocons’ plans to take over earth (what else do they ever get up to?). In this collection, we are given insight into what is happening back on Cybertron, where the Decepticons rule. They’ve built a space bridge that will successfully transport them to earth, where they plan to join forces with Shockwave in order to rid the earth of humans and take it over for themselves once and for all. Will Optimus and the other Autobots be able to thwart their master plan?

This collection binds up issues 14-25 of Transformers comics first published in the mid-’80s.

Screen Shot 2016-08-18 at 1.15.30 PM.png

Goodreads

So, I’m kind of just a little bit obsessed with The Transformers. I’ve loved them since I started watching the animated series when I was a kid. I’m a huge fan of the movie series that features Shia Le Bouf and will fight anyone over how good they are. And, I have to say its so fun to notice how much of those plot points were actually pulled out of the original comics. I get all giddy each time I notice a direct correlation.

Now, all that being said, if I were to look at this objectively, I would probably say this deserves more of a 4-star rating, but I’m not willing to look at this collection objectively, so it gets the 5 stars from me.

I honestly loved this collection. It’s so fun to see the coloring and experience how this series started way back when. (These issues were published 30 years ago!) There’s tons of humor in this series, but there are also themes such as learning to do the right thing and trusting in the power of friendship. The fun parts of the plots are well-balanced with real-life concepts that all of us try to explain, define, and survive. There’s even a bit of exploration into the concept of depression, so that was kind of cool to see.

There’s also some lovely female characters in this collection (as well as in the first one). I really like seeing that in comic books, especially ones from so long ago. I think I also like Transformers so much because they’re machines so they don’t really have a gender. I understand that gender is implied, but they are machines so they don’t need gender defined. They are robots for ANYONE to identify with, which is just pretty awesome, I think.

*next paragraph contains a spoiler*

The only real complaint I have is that Optimus Prime’s death scene in this comic series is a little (okay…a lot…) lame. I mean, it’s kind of a cool and innovative and interesting to see the technology of the era and what the creators thought it would become. So, I guess it’s actually a pretty awesome concept, but the way it was introduced was kind of silly, but it was still fun. (But, maybe I’m just saying that because I don’t actually want to say anything bad about this collection)

*spoiler over*

Overall, if you’re a Transformers fan, this is a great read for you! I highly enjoyed it and highly recommend it. I can’t wait till I can afford volume 3!

Book Depository – $20.62

THE END

Are you a Transformers fan?

Up Tomorrow: Review of DC: The New Frontier, Volume 1

*ANNOUNCEMENT*

I want your pieces to appear on my blog!

I’m getting rid of Friday Favorites, because I’m really bad at keeping up with those posts, and I want to replace it with a new post called Friday Feature.

I want your work to appear on my blog. It can be anything as long as it’s book related!

Submissions are Open!

Send them to through email to HainAL17@uww.edu

Another Announcement

I started another blog. This one’s a travel blog and can be found here: http://ashlytravels.wordpress.com

If you like traveling or reading about travel, please consider checking it out!

Thanks in advance lovelies ❤

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Transformers Classics Omnibus Volume 2 by Bob Budiansky, Herb Trimpe, and Don Perlin

Leave a Reply

