Amulet Volumes 1 and 2 by Kazu Kibuishi

I’m finally getting around to reviewing these two lovely books. I know I promised them before my unexpected hiatus, but they’re here now, so that counts for something, right?

By now you’ve probably seen enough of my multiple review posts to know what to expect, but just in case you’re new here, it works by me reviewing each book individually. I try to slim down the length of the small reviews so that they equal about the size of a normal review of mine.

Screen Shot 2016-08-17 at 12.06.09 PM.png

Amulet, Vol. 1: The Stonekeeper

5/5 Stars
Genre: YA Graphic Novel
Release Date: January, 2008
Source: Library – Borrowed

Emily and Nevin’s father just died and their mother is moving them to a middle of nowhere house that used to belong to Emily’s deceased great-grandfather. Emily immediately feels a strange presence about the house, but cannot figure out why. She is quickly tossed into action when her mother is taken by a human-eating demon from another world. Emily has been thrust into hero mode as the survival of this new world has been passed down from her great-grandfather to her. Will she be able to survive? Will she ever find her mother?

Goodreads

I picked this book up at the Library finally after having meant to read it for years. I’d heard vague hype and love of these books, but had never really known it would be as awesome as it was. I loved this book and devoured it in less than an hour! This, however, is an easy thing to do as it relies mostly on image over text to tell the story.

That doesn’t mean that this story is for children or solely for young adults. Even though the protagonist is quite a bit younger than me, I found it wonderful to read her story. Emily is the strong female lead that young girls need. What I really love about the characters in this story, though, is that Nevin is just as important as Emily. This story provides excellent character role models for both girls and boys. That’s awesome in my opinion.

The first book was a little lacking on character development, but the fast-paced plot made up for that. The reader is immediately thrust into a crazy new world and given just the right amount of information to keep you wanting more, more, more! I could not put this story down. It was magical, a little heartbreaking, and focusses on friendship and family while avoiding love or romance.

Also, ahhh, the main baddie is super morally ambiguous and that is my favorite kind of villain. Is he good? Is he bad? Is he just misunderstand? Can he change? I’m a sucker for this trope sorry not sorry.

The last thing I’ll say is that the art is gorgeous and I couldn’t get enough of it. I found myself re-paging through the story after finishing just so I could take in the loveliness of it all. Seriously, it’s beautiful.

Combined with everything else, this story has the whole package and I highly highly recommend it! This is also very fun, because it blurs the lines between graphic novels and manga, which I thought was super cool. If any of this sounds up your alley, definitely get your hands on a copy.

Book Depository – $10.12

Amulet, Vol. 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse

5/5 Stars
Genre: YA Graphic Novel
Release Date: September, 2009
Source: Library – Borrowed

Emily and Nevin’s story continues in this second book. The siblings are still in search of their mother and continue to learn about the stonekeeper and what that legend means for Emily.

Because I don’t want to spoil anything, I’m going to leave this synopsis at that.

Goodreads

This review is going to be very short, because I felt exactly the same about the second book as I did about the first one.

Everything was just as marvelous and intense. This book does a good job of offering the character development we didn’t quite get enough of in the first book. I loved getting to know more about these characters alongside the plot development. Just literally everything about this series is perfect so far. I love it so much.

I devoured this book immediately after finishing the first. I read both of them in 2 hours, and I have no regrets.

Also, I love that the main villain gets even more morally ambiguous in this one and he’s honestly just a sweet lil’ (semi-murderous) cinnamon roll.

I can’t wait to find out more about these characters. I picked up a signed copy of the 3rd book at BookCon2016 and it’s been staring me down ever since. I can’t wait to finally get to it!

Overall I highly recommend starting this series and continuing with it.

Get Volume 2 Here:

Book Depository – $10.90

THE END

Have you read this series? Thoughts? Want to read it?

Up Tomorrow: Review of Transformers Classics Omnibus Volume 2

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading

One thought on “Amulet Volumes 1 and 2 by Kazu Kibuishi

Leave a Reply

