Holy Cow by David Duchovney

4.5/5 Stars
Genre: Magical Realism/Contemporary
Release Date: February, 2015
Source: Library – Borrowed

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you’ll most likely remember my love (obsession?) for The X Files, and it is probably clear to you that I had to read this book. (If you’re new to this blog, hello newbie! I’m obsessed with The X Files.)

This is a story about Elsie Bovary the cow who finds out what happens to cows who live on farms in America and sets of on an adventure to India where she will be safe from harm and even worshiped as a god. Two other animals tag along on her prison break (farm break?): a turkey in search of a country where he won’t get served for Thanksgiving dinner and a pig that is hoping not to become bacon. Join them on their adventure as they learn that the pasture isn’t always greener on the other side of the fence.

Screen Shot 2016-06-29 at 12.21.41 PM.png

Goodreads Page

Okay, so honestly, after reading this book, I’m pretty convinced that David Duchovny is actually Fox Mulder. They are one in the same. Truly. Truly.

So, how did I even find this book? A friend (April @swimmingthroughliterature to be exact) showed it to me, bringing it to my attention that “this exists.” Then, sure enough, I viewed it once on Amazon, and it quickly started following me everywhere. Still, I held off on buying it, because I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it enough to want to own it. (Duchovny is a very strange man, and I was afraid of the clusterf*ck this book might be.)

However, I just happened to be browsing the fiction section at my Library and lo and behold what I should find there. So, naturally, I snatched this book up and went home to immediately start reading.

And, to my absolute pleasant surprise, I really liked this book. It’s just as strange as I thought it would be, but it’s also incredibly endearing. I almost immediately fell in love with all the characters and their stories. It was fun to follow Elsie’s journey and see what the group found, which wasn’t always pleasant. Still, there were lots of fun, and also lots of heartbreaking, turns that kept me wondering what this gang of misfits was going to get up to next.

Now, I adore magical realism, so when I started reading this book, I had a silent moment of adoration for this text.

For those of you who may not know, Magical Realism is a tactic employed to talk about very real problems in a not-so-real way (a magical way…if you will…). It allows the writer to talk about hard-hitting issues while still keeping some distance between said issues and real life.

This can be a very hard plot device to pull off, but Duchovny does so perfectly.

There were a few points he made that I didn’t quite agree with – like feeling the need to talk about how damaging technology is, which wouldn’t have been all together bad, but it was very clear that he was talking about my generation and that irked me a little. However, that’s a minor complaint, and it’s very clear that the overall point he is trying to get across is the beauty friendship and acceptance. We all live on this planet together and are all very similar, so why do we find it so hard to get along? This is a very moving story that actually had me shedding a few tears by the end. 

Duchovny finds the perfect balance between sadness and happiness, between laughter and tears.

It was very strange to read a book by a man who I only really know from The X Files, but I will definitely be picking up his other books. This was one strange and wild ride, but I enjoyed nearly every minute of it.

Do I recommend it? Yes, 100% – especially if magical realism is your thing.

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $16.57.

THE END

Have you read this? Are you an X Files fan? Thoughts/Opinions?

Up Tomorrow: Review of Alice

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading! 

2 thoughts on “Holy Cow by David Duchovney

Leave a Reply

