*New Feature* Story Time

Okay, so I was  back and then I was gone all day again. I needed, yet another, personal day in which I blasted Fall Out Boy and drove myself all the way to the bookstore. It was well worth it, especially since I had a gift card 😀

So, today (even if it is SUPER late, it’s still Monday), I’m debuting a new feature idea I’ve had. It’s called Story Time and it’s going to be a short post where I basically write a short essay about something personal.

But, I’m not really sure how it’s going to work out yet. So, here’s a small attempt at organizing something by talking about why I’ve been away.

Last week, it turns out I needed some serious recuperation, mainly because the week before I had been living like I  was in college again, but also because I had some freelance work to get done (on top of my part time retail job) and also reworked my dedication to my novel. So, all in all, I was just a bit tired for extra work (no matter how much I love blogging!).

Anyway, here’s a little story about my experiences at Summerfest.

For those who don’t know, Summerfest is held in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, as is a huge music festival. It’s 11 days and all types of bands come to perform. It’s $20 to get in and you get to listen to all the music you want after entering, unless you’re planning to see a bigger show (which I did one day), in which case tickets are more expensive, but you enter the grounds free.

Summerfest is a huge festival and often has thousands of people attending each day. I was one of those people on 3 different days.

Day One

The first day I went happened to be a fluke – just along for the ride, not sure who I was going to see. Then, after a little deliberation, I decided to head of to Peter, Bjorn, and John. However, I ended up going alone.

That’s fine, though.

The show turned out to be wonderful. The group was so fun to watch and very interactive with the crowd. Peter even walked out into the bleachers at one point. I was the 4th row back and he was about 3 people from me.

Also, shout out to the guy with the Harry Potter and Doctor Who tattoos who gave me a high five and somehow got me to dance (if you can call what I do dancing?), which is a very rare occurrence.

All in all, it was one great night.

Day Two

This was a planned day for Summerfest, and I got in free! If you download the app, you get a free ticket you can use any weekday before 4. So, we drove down (my mom and I) and it was 3:54. We weren’t going to make it. At least, we weren’t both going to make it.

So, being a runner has finally come in handy. I could see the entrance. My mom pulled over out of the line of traffic. And, I got out of the car and started running. I made it to the gate fairly quickly (about 3 minutes), but the security line was super long. After running through an entire parking lot – plus some, I wasn’t sure I was going to make it.

I barely did, getting to the gate at 4:01, but, luckily, they let me in!

So, I got to see The Hollywood Vampires, a band that included Johnny Depp on guitar – lead singer Alice Cooper! It was a crazy experience, and I got to have it for free! I’m very happy I made it to the show, especially given recent events.

Day Three

The third day I went, I had planned for months. The show included Andrew McMahon and the Wilderness, Panic! at the Disco, and Weezer. Weezer has been in Milwaukee a few times in the recent past, and I always kick myself for not getting tickets.

So, this time, I went ahead and bought them.

And, it was one of the best things I’ve ever done.

I’ve been listening to Panic since their first album dropped way back when I was in middle school. And, get this, they played my favorite song everTime to Dance. I couldn’t believe it. I pretty much died.

Then, as if that show wasn’t enough, seeing Weezer was a spiritual experience. Weezer’s been around basically since I was born, so I grew up listening to them on the radio and got their album, Pinkerton, when I was in 6th grade. And, they played 2 songs from that album at the show!

I still can’t believe I saw them live. I have a bunch of saved snapchat videos that turned out to be just me shouting into my phone with vague light from the stage in the background, but I’m going to cherish them forever. And, like Panic, they played my favorite songs (new and old).

It was so cool, and I’m so glad I was able to go. It’s a show I’ll never forget. I only cried like 10 times, it’s fine.

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 10.43.06 PM.png

THE END

So, after all that, you can imagine I how tired I was last week, huh? But, it feels so good to be back!

Have you been doing anything fun with your summer?

Up Tomorrow: Review of Gemina

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading! 

One thought on “*New Feature* Story Time

Leave a Reply

