Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

5/5 Stars
Genre: YA/Sci-Fi/Horror
Release Date: October 18, 2016
Source: BookCon2016 – Free ARC

Okay.
Yes.
Alright.
I’m going to write this review.
Just give me a quick moment.

ak;jf ;kjk;fj ak;lfj;k ajj ;aj f; HOLY WOWZA OMFG AHHHH

Great, now that that’s out of the way, let’s get on with it then.

This is the sequel to Illuminae and picks up, more or less, where the first book left off. However, instead of being back on the Hypatia with Kady and Ezra, we’re introduced to Nik and Hannah who live on Heimdell station. That place sounds familiar, right? It should. It’s the space station the Karenza survivors are heading toward. But, they’re not the only ones heading there. Nik and Hannah are forced into action to defend the space station against a new terrorist threat, some horrifying man-hungry space worms, and a rip in space-time that could potentially cause the deconstruction of the universe itself. No pressure, right?

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 6.15.13 PM.png

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

Where do I even start with this review?? I adored every single god damn second of this book. 

Don’t be fooled if you’re friends with me on Goodreads and saw it was taking me awhile to read this. A reading slump hit me, and between that and being exhausted from working so much, that’s what caused the delay. I could have honestly read this book in one sitting if the opportunity presented itself. 

What a roller coaster ride with not just ups and downs but twists, turns, and complete flips around. This plot is absolutely insane. Like, there’s no way I can even try to explain what was going on, so here’s some similarities I drew. The first half really reminded me of the movie Die Hard (which happens to be an absolute favorite of mine!), but in space. There’s also some total Stephen King vibes going on here. There’s a fun romance that will tear you to pieces. And, there’s, of course, tons of other science fiction references throughout. These book’s are a sci-fi fan’s wet dream. Plus, I’m nearly positive I caught a very clear Jurassic Park reference in there. Clever girl? You bet I am!

These plot points are not to mention the twist that may cause the entire universe as these characters know it to collapse into nothingness. You will not believe the plot twists that abound throughout this story. I LITERALLY SAW NONE OF THEM COMING.

And, trust me, you’ll be so attached to these characters, the plot twists will get your adrenaline pumping and your heart breaking. I didn’t know what to expect when I picked up Gemina, so I was surprised not to be instantly reunited with Kady and Ezra. That caused my relationship with Hannah and Nik to be a little strained and uninterested, but that was only at first. I got so emotionally attached to these characters and this plot that I would stop reading this book and straight up forget where I was. Like, what do you mean I’m lying in bed and not awaiting impending doom on a space station millions of miles from civilization?

Every. Single. Character. In this story has magical character development and a unique personality. You can’t help but love them – including the baddies, even if you really do hate them, you’ll still love them. There is not a single flaw in the way the characters were written and developed. I can remember every single character clearly and exactly what purpose they serve: minor characters included.

You may be asking yourself, “But do we get to see any of Kady and Ezra in this book?” We sure do! They make some pretty impactful and serious appearances, causing me to love them even more.

In Krisoff’s review of his own book, he talks about how they’re debuting a new format that will blow your mind, and holy crap I can confirm that it will indeed blow your freaking mind! This book is told in the same way as Illuminae, but there are a few fun knew formats that cause the plot to move super quickly and will keep you glued to your seat reading to find out what could possibly happen next.

This book will rip your heart out, sew it back in, rip it out all over again even more violently, sew it back in, rip it out one last time, and eventually try to replace it one last time; then, this book will say, despite all your scarring and bruising, “see, you’re fine.”

All in all, this book was absolutely perfect and way more than I could have hoped it would be. If you haven’t started this series yet and Sci-Fi is you’re thing, you need to pick up Illuminae right this very instant and immerse yourself in an adventure you will never forget.

These 2 books are easily my absolute favorite reads of 2016, hands down. 

You can preorder your copy from Book Depository here for $17.89.

Also, one last thing. Can we just take a moment to appreciate how precious a human being Jay Kristoff is. He responded to a tweet I made last Friday about the book!

And, as I was writing this book Amie Kaufman liked my tweet too! What a wonderfully perfect aspect of this day!

I’m so happy. I love them both so much!

jaykrisofftweetresponse.jpg

THE END

Have you read Illuminae yet? Loved it? Looking forward to Gemina? Already read Gemina? Share your thoughts, but please don’t be mean!

Up Tomorrow: Review of Holy Cow

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading! 

*Not edited. Will edit later. For now I’m off to see Ghostbusters!

2 thoughts on “Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Leave a Reply

