Listomania – 5 Books About Travel

Hey everyone! Sorry it’s a little late tonight. I’m sitting at a coffee shop and got distracted by tumblr instead of writing my blog post. Oops! But, alas, I’m here now and ready to write.

Today I’m debuting another original feature for my blog. It’s very similar to Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish), but it’s not a top ten. It’s not a top anything, actually.

This feature is simply going to be a list of 5 books I love under a randomly-generated topic. Like I said, similar to the lovely Top Ten Tuesday posts (which was, no doubt, my inspiration for this idea), but not a TTT post.

I’m hoping these posts will still give me the opportunity to list some books I love, but with more freedom, as I’m coming up with the topics and won’t have to muddle around with listing books for topics chosen for me.

Also, the biggest difference is that this is, as you can see, a list of 5 and not 10.

I’m not trying to steal anyone else’s ideas here, I’m simply attempting to allow myself more creative freedom in the books I’m recommending and the lists I’m making.

I’m hoping this will be fun all around and will take some pressure off. 10 books is hard to come up with each week; 5 books every couple weeks is not nearly as challenging and nowhere near as stressful.

So, on with the recs!

Here are 5 books involving solo female travelers that I love.

ONE

thehistorain.jpg

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

As if I need to talk about this book more than I already do. But, I couldn’t resist. I seriously need to reread this one, because I remember loving it so heartily. One of my favorite things about it is that Kostova spent 10 years researching the history for and writing this book, so it’s had a lot of time and effort invested in it and that shows.

TWO

aliceinwonderland.jpg

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

It’s been awhile since I’ve mentioned Alice, right? …right!? Maybe I’m just extra fond of the tale right now because I recently saw the new movie and have been thinking heartily of our dear girl Alice again. Such grand adventures she’s had.

THREE

janeeyre.jpg

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brönte

Ah, yes. Our dear Jane. The poster child for the effects of abuse and neglect on a child. It’s been a while since I’ve read this, but it’s a very interesting, thought-provoking read delving into the psyche of the effects of the  poor-treatment of a child and how those actions follow said child later in life and affect her decisions. This book is not a light read, but an interesting one to be sure.

FOUR

northangerabbey.jpg

Northhanger Abbey by Jane Austen

Although this isn’t my favorite Austen novel, I fear I don’t talk about it enough. It’s a fun little romp with some lovely gothic aspects. It’s also a short, quick read, so perfect for summer – especially the beach!

Also, if you’re up for a movie night, definitely check out BBC’s 2007 version. It’s lovely and a ton of fun!

FIVE

wild.jpg

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

Sure, let’s throw some nonfiction into this list. I love reading a good true tale about a fierce, solo, lady traveler. This is such a touching memoir that is great for these summer months. It’s sure to inspire you to get outside more and focus on what really matters in life. (Whatever that is for you.)

THE END

Well, that’s the new feature. Thoughts?

What are your favorite books about strong women traveling solo? I’m always up for some recommendations!

Up Tomorrow: Review of Full Dark, No Stars

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

One thought on “Listomania – 5 Books About Travel

Leave a Reply

