I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After by Scottie Young

5/5 Stars
Genre: Satire/Humor
First Published: April, 2016
Source: BookCon2016 – Bought

Hey everyone! I’m publishing a review today instead of a Friday Favorites post, since I missed my review yesterday. I was gone all day and didn’t have time to whip something up for you all. So, since I have a little time before work, I’m getting my I Hate Fairyland review out.

When Gertrude is a young girl, she’s stolen from her bedroom and taken to Fairyland where everything is sunshine, rainbows, and candy. She is told by the ruler of Fairyland (Queen Cloudia) that in order to get home she must find a key to unlock a door linking the 2 worlds. Gertrude is assured this should take no less than a day and is given a companion to guide her through Fairyland. She sets out on her quest to return home. Well, she did, anyway…30-some years ago. Now, she’s a grown woman trapped in a girl’s body still trying to find her way home. To say that she has grown to hate Fairyland (as the title suggests) would be the biggest understatement of the year. Will she make it out alive? Will everyone else that crosses her blood-thirsty path?

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 12.04.54 PM.png

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

I bought this at BookCon2016 where I was lucky enough to stumble across this author on the show floor. I had already been wanting to read this, since a girl I follow on Instagram (@bookpairings) read and reviewed it –loving it. We have similar tastes, so I immediately added this to my TBR. So, when I cam across this author, I knew I had to jump on the opportunity. It was so worth it as he was super nice, and that made me even more excited to read this book. I had high expectations, and this book exceeded them all.

If you’re thinking the name Scottie Young sounds familiar, you might recognize him from one of the many popular Marvel comics he’s worked on in the past. If you’re like me, you might recognize him from Neil Gaiman’s book Fortunately, The Milk, which he did the illustrations for. Scottie Young is a very talented man.

I was laughing right away on the first page. This comic is so much fun, and I had a blast reading it. I was incredibly excited to find out what would happen next. There was not a single thing about this comic that was predictable or boring. There was always some new pun or too-true-statement around every corner that had me laughing so hard, some even reducing me to tears.

This comic is definitely satire because it points out all the ridiculous things about actually having to complete a quest, especially when it’s just a child sent on said quest.

Our main character, Gertrude, is a horrible character that is so unlikable that you can’t help but to love her. She’s hilarious, vengeful, and so full of hate that she should scare the pants off anyone in their right mind. Apparently I’m not in my right mind (surprisingly…), because I loved her.

The other characters were wonderfully horrible as well. Seriously, though, there is not really a likable character in this whole comic, but it’s supposed to be that way. There’s still plenty of development, and each character is well-crafted with detailed and understandable personalities.

Along with the characters, the artwork is amazing and the coloring is very psychedelic-drug-trip style. The coloring is incredibly vivid and brings each beautiful (well, I don’t know if beautiful is the word I should use in this case, but incredibly-well-done none the less) panel to life. I love how vibrant everything is, especially given the idea behind the storyline.

One final warning before I wrap up this review: THIS COMIC BOOK IS INCREDIBLY GORY WITH CRUDE LANGUAGE VERY ADULT IDEAS/CONVERSATIONS. Do not read this if this is not your cup of tea or something that is going to be bad for you mental state.

If the warning above does not apply to you and gore/humor/satire is your kind of thing, definitely get your hands on a copy of this comic book IMMEDIATELY! You will not regret it!

Get your copy from Book Depository here for $7.65.

THE END

Have you read this? Thoughts?

I may be back with a Friday Favorites post later tonight, but it will be late, sine I work till 8:30. I shall see how I feel. If I decide not to post it, have a great weekend everyone!

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

7 thoughts on “I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After by Scottie Young

    1. Haha, it totally does look very Wreck It Ralph with the bright colors and everything! I hope you like it if you get around to reading it!

      Like

  1. I finally finished writing my review so I could FINALLY read your review! I’m so glad we felt the exact same about this book (though I knew we would anyway bahah).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

