Recommendations – Books to Make You Chuckle

I’ve been doing these types of recommendations for awhile now, and they will continue to be a steady reoccurring feature on my blog where I list 5 books in a specific genre that I recommend you read if you like said genre. These posts are fun (I think so anyway) and a quick way to discover some new books to read!

This week I’m going to be recommending some books that will make you laugh (hopefully). These are all books I’ve recently finished and haven’t been reviewed yet on my blog, so they’re kind of a sneak peak of what’s coming up and early recommendations.

Titles are linked to Goodreads.

ONE

I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After by Scottie Young
My Rating: 5/5 Stars

ihatefairyland

This comic is pretty gory, but I absolutely adored every minute of it. If you don’t mind seeing things being chopped up and reading about some pretty horrifying things, then you will definitely be laughing at all the puns, crude humor, and satire found within this collection. This (almost) psychedelic-like comic is a fun ride for those brave enough to take it.

TWO

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores by Jen Campbell
My Rating: 4/5 Stars

weirdthingscustomerssayinbookshops.jpg

Laugh at how ridiculous some of these conversations are, and then weep over the fact that they actually happened. This book is definitely perfect for bookworms looking for a good laugh. Plus, it’s a quick read, so, if you need and afternoon (or evening) pick-me-up, this is where you should look.

THREE

Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literary Characters by Mallory Ortberg
My Rating: 5/5 Stars

textsfromjaneeyre

I loved, loved, loved this book! However, since it plays on a lot of classic texts, you may have to be a fan or have a very good general understanding of the premise of classic literature. As someone who’s read most of the works included in this, I was laughing out loud.

Just to give you a little taste of what to expect from this book, this selection is an Emily Dickinson exert.

Screen Shot 2016-06-20 at 5.10.31 PM.png

FOUR

The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
My Rating: 5/5 Stars

theadventuresofsuperherogirl.jpg

This is from the same author as Friends with Boys, so when I came across this at the Library, I knew I had to check it out. And, omg! It. Was. SOOO. Good! I haven’t liked a comic this much since I read Nimona. Seriously, this is laugh out loud funny and incredibly endearing. I cannot recommend this graphic novel enough. I need so much more of it!

FIVE

Bob’s Burgers, Vol. 1 by Chad Brewster, Jeff Drake, Justin Hook, Rachel Hastings, and Mike Olsen
My Rating: 5/5 Stars

bobsburgersvol1

This was more of a casual 5-star rating than the last two book. I did really like this, but I think I enjoyed it more because I’m such a fan of the show. This comic has a very unique story-telling format, but I really enjoyed it. If you’re a big fan of this TV show, definitely check out this comic and let the laughs continue.

THE END

Have you read any of these books? Thoughts? Find anything to add to your TBR here?

Up Tomorrow: *New Feature* Five Facts

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

9 thoughts on “Recommendations – Books to Make You Chuckle

    1. I’ve never read the Archie comics. I keep meaning to get around to them, but I’ll have to get my hands on some soon. Good luck! I hope you can find them 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked her book Friends With Boys, but only ended up giving in 4/5 stars, but her book The Adventures of Superhero girl REALLY sold me. I started following her on twitter too and I love reading her tweets. You will DEFINITELY like her stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I follow her on Twitter & Instagram but haven’t read either of those. I’ve seen her name in other graphic novels I’ve read as a collab. But I know I need to read them both!! Maybe I’ll pick them up for a birthday present to me…:)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

