Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson, Mark Waid, Takeshi Miyazawa, Elmo Bondoc, and Humberto Ramos

5/5 Stars
Genre: Marvel Comics/Superhero
First Published: June, 2015
Source: Borrowed – Library

First thing’s first. My apologies are in order. I know I said I’d be doing a tag today, but I’m pretty exhausted yet from my crazy week last week and work today. So, instead of giving only 50% to a tag, I’m going to do something a little easier and less time consuming: A review.

I’ll be doing a tag tomorrow, as I have the day off and can take lots of pretty photos and actually organize a longer post. So, for today, I’m reviewing the last issue of Ms. Marvel I read.

It’s Valentine’s Day and love is in the air…in more ways than one. With a guest appearance from Loki, this issue is packed to the brim with the everyday and the extraordinary. Kamala is forced to face not only superhuman villains and problems, but is also dealing with some more normal teenage-centric demons. Or, so she thinks upon first glance. How could dating a guy who appears to have it all possibly go wrong? Kamala is about to find out exactly how. But, no worries, there’s still a bigger plot than love going on here. What new big baddie is festering in the shadows, waiting just around the corner? Will Kamala be able to defeat them?

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 12.32.11 PM.png

Click HERE for Book’s Goodreads Page

I love this series so much. Oh my goodness. It’s perfection. There is honestly not a single thing about any of these volumes I’ve read so far that I’ve disliked.

Kamala is a lovable main character that is also relatable, especially for girls and women. She also gets the diversity vote, so yay for that! Kamala is such a believable character, which allows the story to really take flight. I’ve loved her from the get-go. If you are not familiar with the series, Kamala is a young, muslim girl living in New Jersey. She’s discovered she has super powers and now fights crime while trying to attend school and spend time with her family and best friend, Bruno. If you haven’t started this series yet, definitely start from the beginning. You won’t regret it.

What’s there to say about this specific issue? Hmmm. I loved all the characters that appeared in here. There’s not a half-conceptualized character found anywhere in this collection. I even liked the bad guys, since they were thoroughly well-developed with understandable (even if they’re horrifying) motives. My favorite character, though, (besides Kamala, of course) has to be Bruno. He’s adorable and wonderful and just…ughhh. What a precious cinnamon roll. Plus, he frequently speaks out about sexism and other problems inherent in our society. There’s a lovely little blurb about him stating that the friendzone doesn’t exist. (Praise this writer and these artists for this incredibly feminist text!)

Another character that I loved see pop up in this volume was Loki. The way he was written was so fun and made for some fantastic comic relief. He was so precious, yet had that little villainous side of him as well. He cropped up during the right time and didn’t overstay his welcome.

[Insert Transition Here] I really like where this plot is going. The story is getting more intense and something big is definitely coming–something bigger than the crazy ending of this one! There were lots of twists and turns in this collection that left me constantly on my toes, wondering what was going to happen next. I like the new plot that’s emerging and am excited to see where it goes in the next issue. (It’d be great if my Library could get that in ASAP!)

The final point I’ll make in this review is that the art is beautiful, as alwaysThis series has some seriously lovely artwork. I applaud all the artists that work to make this series look as stunning as it does.

I can’t wait to get my hands on the next volume.

If you haven’t started this series yet, you definitely need to, especially if comics are your things. This a wonderful, heartwarming (and sometimes heartbreaking) series that deserves all the praise it receives. I absolutely adore it.

Get your copies from Book Depository here:
Volume 1: No Normal $11.48
Volume 2: Generation Why $11.10
Volume 3: Crushed $11.97

THE END

Have you started this series yet? Thoughts?

Up Tomorrow: Book Tag

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “Ms. Marvel, Vol. 3: Crushed by G. Willow Wilson, Mark Waid, Takeshi Miyazawa, Elmo Bondoc, and Humberto Ramos

Leave a Reply

