ANNOUNCEMENTS + Sunday Review – 6/5/2016

Okay, first things first. I have a few announcements to make. One is not very important; the other is a big change for my blog.

We’ll start with the small stuff first, shall we? Incase you haven’t noticed, which many of you most likely haven’t, Dreaming Through Literature got a new look this past week. This doesn’t affect much of anything, unless you are viewing my actual web page, where things look a bit different.

There’s still a very readable set-up, the only thing that has changed is that everything that was on the side of the web page is now under the menu & widgets extension, found in the upper right hand corner of my blog.

Like I said, nothing major there. However, the big news is that I will no longer be participating in Top Ten Tuesday posts. This may come as a shocker, since I’ve been doing them for so long now and so religiously each week, but, alas, I must end the cyclical tuesday ritual.

I’ve found that Top Ten Tuesday has made me somewhat of a lazy blogger. Many of the topics each week feel the same, and I find myself listing many of the same books week after week.

So, I’m leaving Top Ten Tuesday behind in hopes of opening my mind to new posts and starting the flow of my creativity again. 

I do not mean any disrespect in any way to the lovely ladies over at The Broke and the Bookish. I love their feature and the way it brings bloggers together. However, I am no longer, personally,  able to find the same joy in participating as when I first started. I will still enjoy reading others’ TTT posts, but I can no longer include myself in it each week. 

I have tons of new ideas I’m excited to put into play on this blog. I hope they will all pan out and will be enjoyable for me to write and you, as readers, to do what you, as readers, do: read.

Now, back to our regularly-scheduled programming.

Here’s what went down last week (bookishly).

Screen Shot 2016-06-05 at 1.00.46 PM.png

BLOG POSTS

Monday: Oops, technical error! Nothing showed up. AKA, I was lazy, so you didn’t miss anything.
Tuesday: Top Ten Tuesday – Beach Reads
Wednesday: Book Review – Death Note Volumes 3-6 by Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata
Thursday: Book Review – 37 Things I Love (in no particular order) by Kekla Magoon
Friday: Friday Favorites – 6/3/2016

BOUGHT

STILL NONE

The book-buying ban is holding steady (for the first time in years)!

BORROWED

The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life by Jessa Crispin
Texts from Jane Eyre: And Other Conversations with Your Favorite Literary Characters by Mallory Ortberg and Madeline Gobbo
Why My Third Husband Will Be a Dog: The Amazing Adventures of an Ordinary Woman by Lisa Scottoline
Monster of Men by Patrick Ness
Jessica Jones: Alias Vol. 1 by Brian Michael Bendis, David W. Mack, Michale Gaydos, and Bill Sienkeiwicz
Black Widow, Vol. 3: Last Days by Nathan Edmondson, and Phil Noto

FINISHED

Bob’s Burgers, Volume 1 by Chad Brewster, Jeff Drake, Justin Hook, Rachel Hastings, and Mike Olsen – 5/5 Stars
The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness – 4/5 Stars
The Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks – 5/5 Stars
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – 5/5 Stars
Hellboy, Vol. 3: The Chained Coffin and Others by Mike Mignola – 3.5/5 Stars

(WOWZA I finished some really good books last week!)

CURRENTLY READING

The Creative Tarot: A Modern Guide to an Inspired Life by Jess Crispin
Time: Great Discoveries: An Amazing Journey Through Space and Time 
by Time-Life Books

THE END

That brings us to the official start of another week in blogging. Do you have any big blogging plans this week?

Did you read anything good last week? Anything you’re dying to recommend? (Please do!)

Up Tomorrow: Either a LootCrate unboxing or and Original Tag (Post is currently Mood-Dependent)

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

